Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,474
# 291
03-17-2013, 07:06 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by temmin View Post
This is horrible. The game has become unplayable at this point. No resolve in sight Cryptic? I don't recall Cryptic allowing so many bugs and problems to go on for so long.
Where have you been for the past 3 years?! This whole game is one giant mess of bugs with the odd thing working unintentionally.

Last edited by jcsww; 03-17-2013 at 07:10 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3,219
# 292
03-17-2013, 09:47 PM
Okay, I've lived with this issue for three days now. Enough is enough.

There has been near-constant lag symptoms, server not responding on load screens, and random disconnects.

Most of the time its semi-tolerable. Sometimes it's even amusing, like earlier today when I was constantly pulling the Reverse Picard Maneuver in Gorn Minefield and still took first place.

But then there's times when it goes beyond an inconvenience and actually ruins something. Like last night when I got disconnected seconds before my team got the optional on KASE. Or tonight when the server decided to go awol while I was trying to mine a rich dilithium claim.

I love this game - I really do. And I'm trying to close out my rep grinds and build up my fleet. But this server issue is making it almost impossible for me to enjoy myself. Even when everything is going well, I can't relax and have fun for the constant fear that I'll suddenly stop moving, watch Server Not Responding count up to some infinite sum and then find staring at the login screen.

This is not acceptable. This has gone on too long and has affected too many people for this not to be Cryptic's problem. I couldn't care less about the countdown running out on Thursday or the BIg May Update at this point - I just want to be able to play my favorite game again.


"Freedom is just a pretty idea unless it's backed by Force."

The Masterverse Timeline / Ten Forward Fanfics
Ensign
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
# 293
03-17-2013, 10:29 PM
Change that, I am having full blown problems again, the fix only lasted for a few hours last night, today is back in the crapper...

Okay, after having problems from Thursday until today I got fed up and wrote the help desk, here is what they had to say, and YES my problems are solved, playing like I used to and am so happy about it. What worked for me out of this was the port forwarding and Force Verify and On-Demand Patching changes listed, hope it helps some of you all out:

Greetings Player,

======> Here's some information that can help you with some common problems.

Please first restart your computer and network hardware and try again a little bit later before trying anything else. This is important!

You can try running Options > Force Verify on the game launcher menu, let that complete and try again.

You can try disabling on-demand patching in Options on the game launcher and try the game again.

You can try reinstalling the game with the latest game client. If you are having problems with the launcher, you can try replacing it for your game: (English client)

STO: http://files.startrekonline.com/laun...k%20Online.exe

--------
-> You can try flushing your DNS to help with connection issues.

1) Press the Windows Key + R

Should bring up Run window.

2) Type in cmd and press Enter

A black command prompt window should appear.

3) Type in ipconfig /flushdns and press Enter.
-------

Since the update, your security software may have decided to start blocking the game or patching process. Please carefully go over the info below to help you.

Please make sure that you have Team Viewer disabled.

Check to make sure the following ports are open and allowed through your firewall.
IPs: 208.95.184.0/22
TCP Ports: 80, 443, 7000-7500

You may need to check with your internet provider, your network device's Help or Support resources, on how to do so.

You may have to be on a Windows Admin account, or have Run as Admin access to be able to download, install, update, and run the game. If on Windows Vista or 7/8, you may have to change the level of your UAC settings or turn them off temporarily.

You may need to update to the latest version of DirectX and Internet Explorer 8/9/10 with Javascript enabled. --> You should try setting Internet Explorer as your default web browser if on Windows 7 or 8. Also try deleting the cookies and cache on all of your web browsers, especially Internet Explorer, then restart it.

You can uninstall Pando Media Booster or shut it down (PMB.exe in Windows Task Manager) if you start getting unusual lag spikes, system resource problems, bandwidth issues, or other network issues (usually after you install the game, or if Pando has issue with a current install). Info about pando issues: https://support.perfectworld.com/app...tail/a_id/4042

You may also need to check or change your network settings. In addition, you should check that your CPU, mainboard, and video drivers are updated if applicable. You may need to update your version of Windows(latest Service Pack, etc). You may need to update or install the latest Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable.

You can try adding the game folder/files to your exceptions list in your antivirus and firewall software. Please see the help menu or support website for the software that you use if you aren't sure how to do it.

At your own risk, you may have to disable your antivirus, firewall, and other security software temporarily while you download, install, update, login to, and play the game. Sometimes the security software will block it or throttle it, no matter what you try or even if you try to add exceptions for the game files in your security software.

You may also have to disable, shut down, uninstall, or disable any: torrent, keyboard/mouse, web browser toolbars, video/screen capture, gamepad/input device, multimedia, Instant Messaging, voice over IP, web browser games, other games software applications before downloading, installing, updating, logging into, and playing the game. Basically shut down all non-essential programs.

- You can try using the Task Manager built into Windows to review what processes and services are running on your computer that might be causing problems or using too many resources. Or you can use Process Explorer, which you can download from Microsoft: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s...rnals/bb896653

You may need a program like Winzip or WinRAR to extract the file. Put the executable file (ends in .exe) in a folder location where you can find it easily, like your Desktop or Documents. Then just start it up. Please note that the information that it shows is of a technical nature, and shutting down (or kill process) processes that you don't really know what it does can mess up or crash your system.

This tool is best for seeing what is running, and you can research the processes that you see online in a search engine to see what can or can't be shut down. You can also find out what could be responsible for any software conflicts, or if something is using too many resources on your system.

If you are unsure of what to do with this tool, see Microsoft's support for this tool, and/or have a PC Tech professional help you.

If you need further help, when you contact us by a support ticket, please answer the following questions:

Last edited by flips7; 03-18-2013 at 10:32 AM.
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 747
# 294
03-17-2013, 11:35 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiplyrustic View Post
Would you by any chance know what route the VPN service is taking to PWE's server farm?
I took some tracert readings with and without VPN active if that's what you mean?

The VPN seems to decrease ping times by some 50-70ms to patchserver.crypticstudios.com
Dislike the forum theme? Try THIS. Dislike the STO home page? Try THIS.
Devs, need Fleet Orion Marauder and Dacoit please! :-)

Using - Bulwark, Voth Fighter. Favs - Fleet Corsair, Mogh, Bastion, Nicor, JHEC, JAS
Some others - Orion Marauder, Chel Grett, Guramba, Risian Corvette, Risian Cruiser
Ensign
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
# 295
03-18-2013, 04:10 AM
The game is unplayable with the lag.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 104
# 296
03-18-2013, 04:39 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by flips7 View Post
Greetings Player,

======> Here's some information that can help you with some common problems.


You may also have to disable, shut down, uninstall, or disable any: torrent, keyboard/mouse, web browser toolbars, video/screen capture, gamepad/input device, multimedia, Instant Messaging, voice over IP, web browser games, other games software applications before downloading, installing, updating, logging into, and playing the game. Basically shut down all non-essential programs.
Glad you're running well again.

This part of that letter made me laugh though. You may have to uninstall your mouse, your keyboard, skype, vent, mumble, windows media player, real player, quicktime, iTunes, and all other games you have in order for our game to work.

Priceless.

In other news, I'm back to having slideshow-grade lag again. Oh Joy.

Last edited by hiplyrustic; 03-18-2013 at 04:51 AM.
Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 541
# 297
03-18-2013, 04:48 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiplyrustic View Post
Glad you're running well again.

This part of that letter made me laugh though. You may have to uninstall your mouse, your keyboard, skype, vent, mumble, windows media player, real player, quicktime, iTunes, and all other games you have in order for our game to work.

Priceless.
Lemme guess.... If none of that works I would also have to shut off my operating system then my computer's power supply just to get STO to run correctly again?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 104
# 298
03-18-2013, 06:36 AM
Brilliant, after some measure of decent gameplay yesterday I wake up this morning to slideshow lag and constant DCs when zoning or transwarping. Login server may or may not talk to me as well.

Pings straight to the login server bomb 25-75% of the time, pings straight at the patchserver bomb roughly 25% of the time.

Seriously guys, fix it.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,474
# 299
03-18-2013, 06:57 AM
30 pages in 2 days and not even a Dev response. Can you tell they actually care about keeping our business?!
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,058
# 300
03-18-2013, 07:13 AM
Only one dev response saying they were "working on it." Other than that, no word on how they're doing.

EDIT: I've been able to log in under the US Proxy. So far, no problems since last night. Not sure if it'll help anyone else. Worth a shot.
@HyperLimited
Join Date: Oct 2009 - My Youtube Stuff

Last edited by hypl; 03-18-2013 at 09:38 AM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 PM.