Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 95
# 1 lag and rubber banding
06-21-2012, 08:13 AM
Anyone else having problems with this since the 'maintenance'? I have never seen lag this bad on this game. All my other games are working fine, so I know it is not my internet.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 20
# 2
06-21-2012, 08:19 AM
lagging like a mother****er and keep getting kicked out of server....
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 155
# 3
06-21-2012, 08:25 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectre80 View Post
lagging Like A Mother****er And Keep Getting Kicked Out Of Server....
[size="7"]
^
^
^
^
^
^...this[/size]
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 432
# 4
06-21-2012, 08:41 AM
Please check to see if your AV firewall has not set the sto gameclient.exe to outgoing connection if there is an option under the settings for your AV.

Sometimes after a patch I have to go into mine and make sure the gameclient and launcher have full access through the firewall.
Click to visit Subspace-Radio
Twitter | Blog | Original Join Date: Dec 2007 | Gaming Setup | Raptr Profile | Gamer DNA
The opinions expressed in my posts are my own views and do not reflect on any other entity(s) or person(s) I may or may not represent at the time.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
# 5 This is ridiculous.
06-21-2012, 09:20 AM
After the link, I have to agree that there has been a tremendous amount of lag. I am also getting kicked off the bloody game consistently. I have checked my FW and STO isn't being blocked. Additionally, every other process on my computer is working at 110% so I know its this stupid linking of accounts thing.

I have played Star Trek Online since it came out and have never complained about anything on the forums. This nonsense of the linking accounts, however, has really pissed me off.

The process was anything but painless and after about an hour of being successful - I have to deal with getting kicked off the server. I hope no one else has to endure this complete bullsh** I have had to since the latest unwelcomed update.

I don't care how they do it - but Perfect World better fix it. They can spend a lot of time and effort making changes without notifying us? Then they can get back behind their little desks and work for the money all of us have put into giving them for those stupid lock boxes and those other idiotic Gama Quadrant Duty Officer pack.

I, like so many others, have put money into this game. I am not paying for this to be stupid. Fix it.

-- Dark Deity
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
# 6
06-21-2012, 09:46 AM
i just hope wen i get bk on that most of the issua will be fix b4 i come back like MORE CONTENT STF'S . i stop playing 4 awall in the hops that it be be a little more new to me but some games dot and thats how that die but u no
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,166
# 7
06-21-2012, 10:36 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericandrewross View Post
Anyone else having problems with this since the 'maintenance'? I have never seen lag this bad on this game. All my other games are working fine, so I know it is not my internet.
Now I've been playing STO this week, and the only issue I've had is the slow loading of ESD and DS9 during peak use hours...

Your issue is probably your Internet connection. STO is much more network intensive then other MMRPG and is more likely to have 'deficiencies' show up in your Internet connection. The past few months, there has been some 'issues' as the ISP and Backbone carriers upgrade their equipment for IPv6 support. About the only thing you can really do is to contact your ISP and complain, so that they know they have a problem and do something to correct it.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,069
# 8
06-21-2012, 10:44 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by th3xr34p3r View Post
Please check to see if your AV firewall has not set the sto gameclient.exe to outgoing connection if there is an option under the settings for your AV.

Sometimes after a patch I have to go into mine and make sure the gameclient and launcher have full access through the firewall.
I have a 120mbps internet connection and 66ms ping (that's because I live in Europe) .same with a firewall or AV or without them.I know its easy to blame the user but maybe when more than one person is saying "I'm getting kicked out of the game" its not the user's fault.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
# 9
06-21-2012, 01:32 PM
TO EVERYONE CLAIMING IT IS A CONNECTION PROBLEM:

It is not. I have an account that works perfectly fine and no rubber-banding, yet when I use a newer character, it tends to bounce around A LOT.

I believe this has to do with setting up new data packets to the new servers, which are either overseas or across the country.

This isn't a connection problem on the user-side. This is a problem on the Cryptic/PWE side.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 95
# 10
06-28-2012, 08:54 PM
but apparently it is a problem PWE does not care about.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:56 PM.