Republic Veteran
# 1 Wow, that's quality.
07-01-2012, 11:54 AM
I know this is way off topic, but I figure a bunch of nerds would appreciate this. And I feel like ranting.

[rant]
I have been using computers since 1992 (that I can recall). Over the years they have included:
1 Packard Bell
1 eMachines
3 Dell
8 HPs
1 Apple

It's that last one that I wish to discuss. I bought it for my wife four months ago. It was her birthday gift. She had been using the iPhone and iPad for so long she was too heavily entrenched into that ecosystem. So when her old PC got, well, old, I bought her a MBA in February of this year.

It died.

That's right, after four months, the thing stopped working. No drops. No spills. She was working on it one moment, and we get the folder with the "?" on it the next. I did all of the usual recovery steps and nothing worked. I took it to the Apple store and after ten minutes the "Genius" told me what I told him: the HDD was dead. On a four month old computer.

Never, have I lost a hard drive on any of my computers until yesterday. Never, in all of the drops, bumps, abuse, punching, and kicking had a single of my Windows machines lost a HDD. I was beyond ticked.

Look, I know this is the exception rather than the norm. But look at it from my POV. I have used PCs for two decades and have had over a dozen PCs in my home and it is the Mac that dies. Not only that, it dies in less time than it took for the battery in my XBOX controller to drain.

I have owned every consumer version of Windows since 3.0 (yes, including ME) and it is the Mac that gave us issues.

Sorry, Apple. Your track record is kind of poor at the moment.

*typed from an HP PC that has only been turned off twice in 18 months; and one of those was due to a week long power outage*
[/rant]

EDIT: WHEN I TYPE "HDD", I AM TALKING ABOUT THE HARD DRIVE. I KNOW THE MBA HAS AN *&$%ING SSD!
Click here to watch my STO play-through video series.

Last edited by commadorebob; 07-02-2012 at 08:32 AM.