Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 546
Well, S6 is here! It may still have some... a ... okay a lot of bumps in it... but we got it!

"What does that mean?"

Foundry has recieved the first major coding upgrade in over a years time, bringing our coding "branch" closer to what Neverwinters and the currently updated system is that Cryptic has been working on. We have bug fixes, new features, different interfaces, loads of changes.

"Yeah, but, what does that mean for my missions that were already up?"

It could mean nothing, it could mean everything. I suggest you go and play through all your missions right up now, (even if you can't edit them atm) and check for bugs. If you find any, Report them Via Bug Reports as Foundry Errors. Not for your specific mission but to let them know of an unexpected change for how the foundry mechanics work. They will love you and we will get a better foundry out of it! When the doors open up again for editing, we can go back and fix things and better yet, make them improved!

These are the major changes to keep in mind, this ones you need to look out for! In addition, check out THIS POST BY BRANFLAKES on other changes and things to keep in mind about this new change.


Here are Issues and Things to Consider! Read, Learn to Fix, Have fun! CREATE!


Known Critical Issues (Issues that will break a mission due to new mechanics):

*Component Complete/This Component: Upon entering the editor, any former "Component" object triggers must be checked. An error, perhaps due to the new switch involving defunct "This Component" triggers, will cause an object to be uninteractable. The window will still open to show you can interact with an object, however, selecting it does nothing and, if story critical, will not progress.
Fix: Simply go into the editor and select the triggered object or dialog and re-assign it to the same trigger.
*Note* An automatic publish/republish by the server does not appear to cause this, however, first time opening the editor and subsequent publishes via there without addressing this issue will cause problems.


Known Changes (Things you'll want to address come S6 Republish):
Snap to Grid/Angle are on by Default: Currently, you'll find snap to grid/angle as automatically enabled. This limits some fine tuning and if you are not aware of it being on automatically you may get frustrated.
Fix: Just turn it off for fine tuning.

Object Names: Objects no longer appear as just "Object" on the map and take whatever name is assigned to them Via Map like contacts. This is awesome! It but you will need to do some renaming if you are like me and labeled objects "unpretty" things like "Ob1" "Thingamajig" or "dohicky", unless of course that was your intention.
Fix: Go into Map View, select Object. Add decent name. However, watch now that you can have exact copies of names that renaming them moves their position on the list. Possibly making correct object acquisition difficult.

New Dialog Speaker Titles: You now have the ability to label who is talking in a Dialog Box. Give titles, in jokes, what have you. Does nothing to mission and without editing looks like it always has. However, you now may want to go back and add them now that the feature is there.
Fix: Go into the Edit Dialog Panel and it is a new box labeled "Title". Completely discretionary.


Known Still Issues (Things we've just dealt with so long and forgot are bugs, but are still there):
Map Placed Pop Up Dialogs needing reset to work: First time you open up a map with a map placed dialog popup will require you to reset the map at least once in order to function properly.

Previewing Non Contact or Story Dialog via Edit Dialog Screen Results in Nothing (Kinda): Still borked, preview via map preview still works (so long as you've reset the map once since placing/creating the dialog). We do however get a red silhouette man double now though. So... that's new.

Fighter Groups Still Spawning Wonky: Fighter Combat Contacts still sometimes despawn after appearing, often at random in numbers and which. You can still only rely on all the contacts appearing and staying there if they spawned into combat range. The full number and which contacts spawn may be inconsistent.

Custom Costume Assets limited by Account Unlocks: We are still limited in the species and race of custom costumes we create in the foundry by those we have unlocked for our account. IE: No ability to create Liberated Borg Costume unless we are lifetime accounts where we could before.
Still got the Uniforms Though!: We still can make things using uniform pieces that we have not unlocked on our accounts, considering those pieces are on the foundry list.


Known Fixed Issues:
Ship Bridge Map Fixes and Updates are Retroactive: If you used any old Bridge Maps that had invisible walls built in (IE: Keeping you out of the ready room) or had upgrades the new maps have replaced all the old. That means if you planned around those walls being there and hampering your progress, you may want to look into addressing it. OR if you wanted to use a map where you could walk around the bridge AND ready room you can now make those changes. Some chair movement... may have happened. So, be prepared to move those sitting contacts a few inches... again. (I feel your pain).


I was at the benefit of having an old Tester mission for F2P testing still up and in the system that republished when they turned this Tribble Build on. It had a fair amount of funky mechanics that worked and still work, so I didn't mention them. There are a few authors in the same boat who have missions that republished and went through this puberty.

If anyone else knows a bug they found via an Old Mission Republishing post it here. I will add to the list! We can communicate and compile fixes!
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 546
# 2
07-12-2012, 11:19 PM
[Reserved Just in Case]
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
# 3 cannot use foundry
07-13-2012, 03:28 AM
i have logged on to make a new foundry today and i cannot access it could some one please tell me why i have made 3 in there till now and found out i cannot acess it now
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11,880
# 4
07-13-2012, 05:22 AM
Holodeck is up but they're still updating foundry. If you want to play with the new Foundry you can do so on Tribble.
HAIL HYDRA!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
I can haz joystick!
MMOs aren't charities. Corporations are supposed to make a profit. It's what they do.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 80
I did a good walk through on Tribble server all last week. I did not really see any major problem with the way I develop a Foundry story. IN my stories, I use multiple story threads and use dice rolling in dialog prompts.

I was able to do all this in the test projects I wrote on Tribble.

I expect the new way maps are done in game with the mission door will be the major obstacle to overcome. This is where I expect there to be a problem.

Thank you
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11,880
# 6
07-14-2012, 05:22 AM
Honestly... I don't think the mission door is that big a deal either. You were supposed to need a specific door in the first place.
HAIL HYDRA!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
I can haz joystick!
MMOs aren't charities. Corporations are supposed to make a profit. It's what they do.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 149
# 7
07-14-2012, 05:46 AM
I was off for 24 hours hoping it would be done by now...

I guess we will be waiting until sometime Monday now since nobody I know works the weekend. My son suggested that maybe they are waiting to see how many complain to grasp how much the Foundry is needed.

Almost time to go burn the meat on the grill.
-Wendy Black

KDF mission of honor and intrigue.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 89
# 8
07-14-2012, 12:17 PM
We were told, not that there are problems with Foundry, but that it would not be accessible again until auto-republish had completed for existing missions. As far as I am aware, that situation has not changed. Either the missions have not yet completed their auto republish or there is a problem we have not been made aware of. I hope it is the former and Foundry comes back online soon.
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11,880
# 9
07-14-2012, 01:01 PM
Burn? no no no.... it's COOK! Ever try Bison? It's yummy! But yeah still down.
HAIL HYDRA!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
I can haz joystick!
MMOs aren't charities. Corporations are supposed to make a profit. It's what they do.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 844
# 10
07-14-2012, 06:17 PM
I'm pretty sure the issue is they have to verify that there is no problem and re-enable the Foundry manually, which means it's not going to happen until Monday at the earliest.


Click here for my Foundry tutorial on Creating A Custom Interior Map.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:03 AM.