Career Officer
When I started playing STo a few months ago. I initially never had any crashes. Just some graphical issues which i suppose were solved by catalyst updates (later I wiped my hard-drive and reinstalled windows).
about 3 months ago STO would start to crash frequently. Every time i run the game there was high frequency sounds coming from the fan that helps cool my GPU. When I updated my BIOS, my system was quite as a mouse during gaming. But after about 10 days those high frequencies popped up again and STO started crashing frequntly - with the periodic BSOD thrown in for good measure.
Most of the crashes occurs with only the game crashing and then asking you to send a dump.
The bsods that would periodically pop up would mostly indicate IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. Sometimes the bsods would reference system files.
I took in my PC for diagnostics. Torture test and other stuff were run on RAM and the other hardware for 24 hours straight each time, with absolutely no problems.
I'm at a loss. Could my AMD based system be causing the crashes? or could the STO program be detecting something in my windows files that it doesn't like?
One gamer mentioned that the stuff in my sys.ini file was very old. But i don't see how that would be a problem.

Here is my hardware:

- AMD PHENOM II X4 965 3.4GHZ QUAD CORE BLACK BOX EDITION
- GIGABYTE RADEON HD5770 GV-R577SO-1GD SUPER OVERCLOCK 1GB PCI-E RETAIL
- GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 RETAIL (motherboard)
- Litepower 600 (psu)
Note: the original stock heat sink on my GPU was removed and coupled with an Accelero S1 Plus VGA cooler
- Case: Thermaltake http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Produc...C=1470&ID=2068

If anybody can help me, it would be greatly appreciated.