Ensign
# 1 Total newb
07-16-2012, 03:53 PM
looking for a linkshell/guild/whatever you call them here...

Used to FFXI / WoW / GW / Rift...

Bit prem this as i'm still downloading the client..

So where do i start?
Ensign
# 2
07-17-2012, 03:18 AM
Well i'm up to level 7
Survivor of Romulus
# 3
07-17-2012, 03:34 AM
If you want to join a fleet let me know on my handle @hrci2907

we are called Adriatic Fleet.
Captain
# 4
07-17-2012, 03:54 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by asmokingcoin View Post
looking for a linkshell/guild/whatever you call them here...

Used to FFXI / WoW / GW / Rift...

Bit prem this as i'm still downloading the client..

So where do i start?
Hello Smoking Coin, welcome to Star Trek Online.

This unique MMO is rather easy to learn so I wouldn't worry rushing to join a fleet (that you may not like later on) just yet.

For the first 30 levels of gameplay, you'll be learning starship command and management skills very gradually in a stress-free environment for the most part. So take your time, relax and enjoy the Trek-Lite experience of STO's mission-based storyline.

Its when you're past level 30 that you'll be commanding a very large and potentially very powerful starship - but still while Fleets can give you all that you know to create "the ultimate weapon", it pays to rely on your own personal resources and mettle to create your very own customized war-winning solution.

The reason is thus:

I can teach you to create "the best ship" in terms of damage output. But you'll have no idea of the process, and the sheer exhiliration of building your own favourite Star Trek ship of the line. If I gave you all the answers in Day One, you'll probably be at a loss and being micromanaged by others.

As a F2P player I can tell you this - a fleet is not a one shot ticket to success. Joining one doesn't guarantee access to a professional, supportive organization. Each fleet has different agendas, different specialties, different management.