Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 13
# 11
07-23-2012, 04:47 AM
ill keep trying for sure, just so very frustrating is all. running windows 7 64 and i read up on p[eople having problems with that and ran it in windows xp mode, all service packs and what not, to the same result.
it could be just the fact im in oz on a us server?? i doubt it since alot of the main mmo's have us serves and i do just fine, i will take the advice of you fellows and continue to address the situation, really do want to play again
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 13
# 12
07-23-2012, 04:56 AM
bought a new router, new cable, theres no jumping theres just nothing, im in space i can twirl around i cant move, i cant set my skills, they just reset seconds later, and cant even see items on my toon, not can i see my ship screen, cant chat... at times i thinkits like SUPER lagged but i can see people warping in and flying around all over the place
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 13
# 13
07-23-2012, 06:05 AM
oh and this is what i see on the screen, had to take it using my phone as when i did a screen shot all i got was my shipo in the forerground and nothing else! http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/...om75/photo.jpg
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,007
# 14
07-23-2012, 06:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by irthebadman View Post
oh and this is what i see on the screen, had to take it using my phone as when i did a screen shot all i got was my shipo in the forerground and nothing else! http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/...om75/photo.jpg
That's the sign of a bad connection. It's not getting the required data from the servers.

First guess that comes to mind is ports blocked.

Can you provide the results to the two tests in this sticky please:

http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...d.php?t=225155

Especially the second one as that's checking connections via the ports.

Also please make sure in Windows Firewall that the game has access to the net.
---
Took 20 minutes to get that screencap and her arm is still doing through the armrest
Dr. Mike's Steak Dinner

35 Starbase Projects done. 715 Projects remaining
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 745
# 15
07-23-2012, 06:29 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by irthebadman View Post
oh and this is what i see on the screen, had to take it using my phone as when i did a screen shot all i got was my shipo in the forerground and nothing else! http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/...om75/photo.jpg
Looks like something's scrambled in the game itself.

Have you done a force verify from the launcher? (Options - check "force verify")

When you did the uninstall, did you also hunt down the folder and delete it? (sometimes remnants remain).

{eta, also what MikeWendell said}
__________________________________________________
"I weary of the chase. Wait for me. I shall be merciful and quick."
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 13
# 16
07-23-2012, 06:32 AM
yeah did a full wipe and tracked down all the associated files. i shall indeed perform these tasks that you speak of, the firewall and ports issue though is fine, made sure they were all clear.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 185
# 17
07-23-2012, 06:38 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by irthebadman View Post
ill keep trying for sure, just so very frustrating is all. running windows 7 64 and i read up on p[eople having problems with that and ran it in windows xp mode, all service packs and what not, to the same result.
it could be just the fact im in oz on a us server?? i doubt it since alot of the main mmo's have us serves and i do just fine, i will take the advice of you fellows and continue to address the situation, really do want to play again
I play from Tassie with no probs what so ever...

When you spoke to your isp, did you run through a hop test with them?... if not do so and hit the sto servers if its taking more than say 20 hops its your isp.

If its not your isp do a dxdiag and give it to support.

DO NOT POST A DXDIAG ON PUBLIC FOUMS!!! they contain sensitive pc info that naughty people can use to get into your system so as above do not post it here just give it to support.
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 13
# 18
07-23-2012, 07:11 AM
also posted in that sticky but doesnt look pretty

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 122.49.187.48
Ping: 250.0 msec
Port: 80: 261 KB/sec 23 KB/sec 276 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 253 KB/sec 25 KB/sec 269 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 94 KB/sec 13 KB/sec 100 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 253 KB/sec 30 KB/sec 269 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 4 KB/sec 5 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 3 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 26 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 37 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 40 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 43 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 48 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 3 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 75 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 6 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 5 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 4 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 40 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 261 KB/sec 10 KB/sec 276 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 7 KB/sec Recv: 5 KB/sec
hit return to exit
sd

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Greg>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 17 ms 16 ms 17 ms lo5000.bras8.adl1.adnap.net.au [122.49.191.24]
3 16 ms 16 ms 16 ms g3-33.cor1.adl1.adnap.net.au [219.90.143.57]
4 16 ms 17 ms 17 ms te4-1.cor2.adl1.adnap.net.au [219.90.143.246]
5 16 ms 16 ms 16 ms te1-3.cor2.adl4.adnap.net.au [219.90.143.242]
6 16 ms 17 ms 16 ms vlan369.55drc76fg.optus.net.au [59.154.0.49]
7 43 ms 43 ms 42 ms 61.88.221.73
8 202 ms 203 ms 211 ms 203.208.192.201
9 207 ms * 207 ms 203.208.153.46
10 209 ms 207 ms 207 ms te0-3-0-7.ccr22.lax01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.43.249]
11 238 ms 238 ms 238 ms te0-2-0-3.ccr22.iah01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.45.1]
12 268 ms 271 ms 268 ms te0-1-0-3.ccr22.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.6.137]
13 269 ms 269 ms 270 ms te0-2-0-3.ccr22.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.1.34]
14 271 ms 271 ms 271 ms te0-4-0-2.ccr22.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.41.10]
15 275 ms 275 ms 276 ms te0-3-0-5.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.44.62]
16 281 ms 281 ms 281 ms te3-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.
130]
17 276 ms 283 ms 286 ms 38.111.40.114
18 279 ms 280 ms 280 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Greg>

that nettest one scares me some
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,007
# 19
07-23-2012, 07:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by irthebadman View Post
that nettest one scares me some
Yes, me too. Those numbers are very low. Normally would be 100x at least.

You're not running anything else? Um like torrents or file traders, are you? *cough*

I know one of the public networks I use have those ports completely blocked as they feel that those ports are only used for file trading. I was kind of hoping for a complete block. I;m wondering if that's rate limiting done by your ISP.
---
Took 20 minutes to get that screencap and her arm is still doing through the armrest
Dr. Mike's Steak Dinner

35 Starbase Projects done. 715 Projects remaining
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 13
# 20
07-23-2012, 07:32 AM
nothing else being run... unfortunately
as for rate limiting by the isp, i doubt it. its the same isp i had when i was playing the gamne on release and nothing has changed. well i presume nothing.

only other thing i can think of that has changed IS the new modem/router. will have to test out the old one and see.

well its posted so now to just wait and try a myriad of things over again and then hopefully one day it will just work!
heres hoping anyhoo
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:10 PM.