Empire Veteran
# 1 Please advice (Borta tac)
08-25-2012, 11:33 PM
Hello Folks,
Please go easy on me cos Im still learning the ropes of this game.
I have the following setup on my Borta tac cruiser (Tac Klingon captain)

Front: 2x Borg AntiProton Beam Array, 1x Borg AP Turret & 1 Borg Quantum Torp
Back: 3X Mk XI Very rare AP Turret, 1x Mk XI AP Beam (all got from Dilithium store)
Full Jem'Hadar Engine, deflector and shield set
Consoles: Borta Tac (for the autocannon) and War console (for the BoP), 2X MkXI AP buff console, a couple hull plating consoles for defence, and one borg console and few other utility consoles.

I just started doing the STFs (Both std and elite) and so far I've been doing a lot better than I thought I would be. Until one helpful kdf player told me that my turrets would be better off as beams because in some fights I might be father than 5KM away.

I do realize my set is still dominion, but as mentioned before I just started the stf so it will be a while before I get a honor-guard set.

My question is, should I change my turrets to beams? I kinda love how I can go canon-rapid fire and see my turrets do full on . Will beams be better on the bortas?
Also is the borg set (the one u get for encrypted chips) better than the dominion set?

Appreciate any responses
Cheers

Pathor (KDF)
Empire Veteran
# 2
08-26-2012, 05:03 AM
The thing is, the Dominion set is kinda tailor-made for Polaron weaponry (the Set 2 bonus boosts their weapons actually). In fact, only the Jem'Hadar Bug and the Galor get the Victory is Life boost (chance to remove buffs when using Polaron weaponry).

So, with you using Antiproton, you're not getting the full benefit from it. I'm not saying you should get rid of the pieces, but you should carefully consider things.

Now the Borg set... It's easy to get, and it's benefits are quite good (execpt for the 4-piece bonus, the tractor beam):