Go Back   Star Trek Online > Information and Discussion > Star Trek Online General Discussion
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,137
# 11
09-09-2012, 01:17 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariseabove View Post
Ah because you mentioned STF's and Fleet missions.

Fleet missions are a new thing so they are covered by what the Dev has said regarding the way stealth works.
Fleet actions. You know, Gorn Minefield, Klingon expeditionary force, that kind of stuff.

However, I will have to test with the Fleet starbase missions, too. I vaguely remember Starbase Defense having the same issue, but I'll test it.

Quote:
And the STF's have been updated to.
No, they have not. Take a cloaked ship, go into them, and then ask for some information about the bridge offcers's data analysis: You decloak. That cannot be intended.

Quote:
Had you not mentioned those I wouldn't have posted anything but because you did I assumed you didn't read all of what the Dev said.
Thing is, you are apparently not the only one who does not post anything. My conclusion is that it is not really that much of an issue for people. Which is okay, but then nobody should blame the Devs for not doing much about it.

Personally, I find that a little bit sad, as those cloaking bugs bother me indeed, but apparently I am in the minority here.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Promote what you love, instead of bashing what you hate.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?featur...lM_skuv4#t=584
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 622
# 12
09-09-2012, 05:06 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by sophlogimo View Post
Hm, judging from the contributions here, the problem does not seem to be that pressing to many players?
I'm not here to do the work Cryptic is too lazy, inept, and/or miserly to do themselves. As I've said many times previously, Cryptic would prefer to pretend Tiny Tim on crutches is 'working as intended' rather than help Tim get well. There is plenty of canon evidence not only for this to be fixed entirely but never to have performed in this fashion.
All cloaks should be canon.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11,085
# 13
09-09-2012, 07:42 PM
Ker'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratK er'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKe r'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer 'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer' ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'ratKer'r at

Ker'rat.
http://i1151.photobucket.com/albums/o633/centersolace/189cux9khvl6ojpg_zpsca7ccff0.jpg

So inhumane superweapons, mass murder, and canon nonsense is okay, but speedos are too much for some people.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 989
# 14
09-09-2012, 08:13 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by timelord79 View Post
I believe the Fek'ihrr mission is set up manually for this somehow.
To apply that to every other missions they need to go through every single space map in the game including explorations.

To me the mini contacts sound good, better in fact than a button to push.
They will have to go into the missions to chance to change to the mini-contacts. So what's the difference?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 96
# 15
09-09-2012, 08:17 PM
As I recall the issue the folks at Cryptic had no idea at first that you previously could stay cloaked during dialog contacts. Then a patch changed that. After much back and forth they decided it was indeed a bug. Now apparently its just another "working as intended" mechanic.

For the record, I never broke a mission because I was cloaked during a dialog. That excuse from another poster is such a cop out. I'm sure the list would be longer but I no longer fly a cloaked ship.

I just got sick and tired of waiting for their tiny team to address the issue. Now that they are bigger its up to the players to post where it makes sense to cloak. Sure let me do your work for you because its obviously too much work for the guys getting paid to do it.
http://www.the-bums.com

Last edited by johnynormus; 09-09-2012 at 08:22 PM.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 185
# 16
09-09-2012, 10:45 PM
I had a little play in those fleet missions and stf's, if you simply press alt -F12 and move the message box away from the center of your screen then when playing don't acknowledge it let the other players do it and you won't de cloak.

So its not a bug and it does work as intended.

You don't really need to be cloaked in those missions anyway the bonus for coming out of cloak guns blazing only works well at the start of those missions and its rather hard to get out of combat long enough to cloak again plus the fact theirs a time issue on those missions and going out of combat to cloak all the time wastes time.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,897
# 17
09-10-2012, 03:18 AM
I am pretty sure the mini-contact thingy also decloaked my ship. Of course, I haven't played in weeks, maybe that is fixed.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,865
# 18
09-10-2012, 06:03 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariseabove View Post
I had a little play in those fleet missions and stf's, if you simply press alt -F12 and move the message box away from the center of your screen then when playing don't acknowledge it let the other players do it and you won't de cloak.

So its not a bug and it does work as intended.
Uhmm, I'm pretty sure the message after destroying the cube with spheres at the beginning of ISE decloaks me as soon as it appears, no need for me to acknowledge it.

But I may be mistaken (haven't taken a hegh'ta to STFs for a while).
TOIVA, Toi Vaxx, Toia Vix: Bring in the Allegiance class
Toi'Va, Ti'vath, Toivia: Design that long overdue Tier 5 C-Store Raptor
Tae'Va, T'Vaya, To'Var: Give us Asylums for Romulans

Don't make ARC mandatory! Keep it optional only!
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,143
# 19
09-10-2012, 06:16 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariseabove View Post
I had a little play in those fleet missions and stf's, if you simply press alt -F12 and move the message box away from the center of your screen then when playing don't acknowledge it let the other players do it and you won't de cloak.

So its not a bug and it does work as intended.

You don't really need to be cloaked in those missions anyway the bonus for coming out of cloak guns blazing only works well at the start of those missions and its rather hard to get out of combat long enough to cloak again plus the fact theirs a time issue on those missions and going out of combat to cloak all the time wastes time.
Check again
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 240
# 20
09-10-2012, 10:20 AM
Just passing by, one comes to mind though:

STF: Infected Space, both Normal and Elite.

After destroying the initial Cube and Sphere duo, I and other players may hit cloak/BC to close in on the first repair hub's cube/sphere defender. But since a dialog pops up as those first three defenders are destroyed, it can decloak a ship prematurely if they are already cloaked and closing in on their next target.

As the contact is saying nothing that would involve having to interact beyond the ship, this should be a mini-contact to remove an admittedly mild nuisance.

The Artist Formerly Known As Nikotaka ][ Join Date: Jan 2010
"Can anyone remember when we used to be explorers...?"
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 PM.