Lieutenant
I know the JJ Abrams Star Trek is a rather touchy subject with most Trekkies, but I felt the need to get my pet peeves with the movie out there. I have three.

1. The warp "core" in the movie was multiple cores which doesn't make sense to me. Could anybody explain why they did the warp core this way instead of the standard warp core from all the other Star Treks.

2. The warp effect, not the effect of the ships jumping to warp which I actually think is pretty cool (I know blasphemy ), but the effect of them in warp which looks more like the hyper space thing from Star Wars. Now I'm no expert on warp theory but I don't think I have ever seen a ship going through some sort of corridor thing except when it is slip stream drive.

3. Now I know it is a brewery, but seriously Abrams, it would have been way cheaper to just build a set than renting a entire brewery. All those pipes and tanks did not say futuristic to me especially on a starship. It looked almost as if the entire enterprise was made of those pipes and tanks with a bridge, sick bay, and shuttle bay slapped on.
Starfleet Veteran
# 2
09-25-2012, 06:11 AM
1. As seen in the Original series. Those canisters behind the fence could be the multple Warp Cores similar to the newest movie. Also remember that the USS Enterprise Aircraft carrier has 8 nuclear reactor cores, while Nimitz class ships which came much later have only 2 each.

2. Considering the amount of energy needed to bend Space/Time to achieve faster than light travel, I can't imagine the effect NOT being similar to what we saw in the latest movie. I think it's more unlikely that what we saw in the old series and it's spinoffs and movies was just too "clean" to be realistic, considering the amount of energies involved. But without proff either way, who's to know.