Lieutenant
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
If you are having the launcher auto-update failure bug, as so many hundreds, (if not thousands), of us are, I believe I have found a functioning work-around. Read about it here -

http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...91#post5864791

Essentially you Google "Hotspot Shield", download the free version of their VPN utility, install it, and log in as far as the character selection screen with that VPN util activated. Once you reach the screen where you choose your character, you can disable the VPN and proceed normally from there. You can even change characters, without needing to re-activate VPN.

Let's be very clear, this is not a fix. This is just a work-around, so we can play the game, until PW gets their alleged (expletive deleted) together and fixes the problem with their servers.

In all fairness, I did not devise this work-around. It was suggested months ago, by others far more clever than myself.

Good luck, comrades!



Hasta la victoria siempre!
Lieutenant
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
# 2 two more things
09-27-2012, 03:09 PM
Two more things I have discovered about using this work-around

1) When you first turn on Hotspot shield, it sets the master volume slider on your sound control to zero. Just find the icon in the system tray, (bottom right of your desktop), for sound controls, bring that up, and you'll see the master volume slider at the far left is turned all the way down. Bring it back up to wherever you usually keep it. I don't suggest you set it to max

2) When you reach the character selection screen, and you alt-tab out to disable Hotspot shield VPN, you'll be disconnected to the re-login screen that you get when changing characters. Don't worry, you're good to go, just log back in and everything will work fine. It's not the login server that's jodido, it's the autoupdate server.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
# 3
10-05-2012, 01:24 PM
This is still working for me a week later, but I have started just leaving VPN on all the time. The reason is that there are times when the game is trying to hit the autoupdate server while you play. For example, when I enter a solar system to do a Foundry mission for my Officer Reports daily, the server wants to check for updates to the mission, and if I don't have VPN running, it chokes.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:32 PM.