Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 921
One of the things I've noticed about the sector block maps in the game is how cluttered they are. Text overlaps text and generally it can be hard (especially in the KDF home sector block) to see individual systems.

I think there is a simple way to stop this being an issue: Remove the text "system". So "Qo'nos System" would just be "Qo'nos", "Beytan System" would just be "Beytan" and so on.

The text "system" does nothing but clutter the map - no additional information is conveyed.

What do you guys think?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5,033
# 2
10-13-2012, 12:13 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by walshicus View Post
One of the things I've noticed about the sector block maps in the game is how cluttered they are. Text overlaps text and generally it can be hard (especially in the KDF home sector block) to see individual systems.

I think there is a simple way to stop this being an issue: Remove the text "system". So "Qo'nos System" would just be "Qo'nos", "Beytan System" would just be "Beytan" and so on.

The text "system" does nothing but clutter the map - no additional information is conveyed.

What do you guys think?
It's not an issue if you zoom the map.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,430
# 3
10-13-2012, 12:15 PM
I think its a good suggestion, especially if the art was changed as well to also reinforce the difference between a system, an object, an anomaly etc. Like the syfy channel icon for a planetary system.

However, I do have a feeling that this wouldn't be easy for Cryptic to change (for the old systems at least). Perhaps those names are tied closely to the missions connected with them. Its been shown in the past that Cryptic sometimes lacks design forethought when creating things that could potentially change in the future.

It would be nice to think they could simply edit the names and the changes would propogate throughout the various databases though.

It does make sense for some systems. One of the new systems in the upcoming Season 7 sector is called Archer's System, if I recall correctly (there are a few examples of such systems).
nynik | Join Date: Dec 2009
<Dev> Oaks@dstahl: *checks for CBS listening devices in the office*
Captain
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,334
# 4
10-13-2012, 12:22 PM
3 things bother me about sector space

1. Not being able to pilot from the bridge

2. Plotting an autopilot course and getting asked if want to enter some damned cluster I never asked for

3. the size of the map or maybe the time it takes to travel, I always heard space was infinite
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 109
# 5
10-13-2012, 12:59 PM
sector space needs a rework we all know it we have all said it but still not done like so much in this game needs reworking but i doubt we will see it reworked anytime soon. i hope i am wrong.
It needs to be bigger i am bored of crossing the federation in less than 5 mins it should be that if your at deep space 9 that is your base of operations not well i will just pop back to earth space dock and then nip on over to deep space K7 before i pop on back to deep space 9 after a little visit with battle fleet Omaga. if you want to go to a different area it should be a massive logistical journey with peril and an adventure across deep space where you could run into raiders or a Borg scout or even an old dominion warship you get the picture. Sector space should be big it should be dangerous and it should be surprising from time to time
Ketan Merious
Captain, U.S.S Transcendent
Explorers Fleet, Senior Member
We want an Odyssey variant give us it
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 176
# 6
10-13-2012, 01:28 PM
I really hope merging the sectors in on the list of stuff to do for next year, they need to make space bigger, make it take a while to travel so our transwarp network actually makes sense. Add nebula effects like the Briar patch and Badlands so space is actually interesting to fly through.
http://stosignatures.ufplanets.com/Thomas45-STO.png

{UFP}Thomas45 - Thomas Nixon U.S.S. Majesty Unbound
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 109
# 7
10-13-2012, 01:36 PM
also for things like the badlands and briar patch should influence the speed at which you travel so if i am going to be going through the badlands i can only travel max warp 6 or something
Ketan Merious
Captain, U.S.S Transcendent
Explorers Fleet, Senior Member
We want an Odyssey variant give us it
Captain
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 912
# 8
10-13-2012, 02:19 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanith1989 View Post
also for things like the badlands and briar patch should influence the speed at which you travel so if i am going to be going through the badlands i can only travel max warp 6 or something
why would you want that??

i think that they should double the speed your ship travels at its current rate.
going through space is so slow
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,430
# 9
10-13-2012, 02:27 PM
Are you doing something about that aarons9?

Skills? Specific Engines? Abilities? There are options.

Environmental effects in sector space is a novel idea, but, I'd rather not see them used en-masse. For example, imagine taking a detour to make a rotation of a particularly dense gravity system which could give you a slingshot type temporary speed boost. Handy for racing.
nynik | Join Date: Dec 2009
<Dev> Oaks@dstahl: *checks for CBS listening devices in the office*
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 361
# 10
10-13-2012, 02:46 PM
You could use the third tab and avoid using the Sector maps altogether. I only use it really to tell distance between points not on the space map.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:47 PM.