Republic Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 133
# 1 Problem with Combat Supply
10-21-2012, 10:31 PM
Every time I try to use the Combat Supply power, the items it gives end up in the "Overflow Bag" where I can't use them. This happens regardless of how many slots I have free either on my ground device slots or in my inventory. What's more, the overflow bag will not open when I click the button.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
# 2
10-22-2012, 01:26 AM
Combat Supply is the most useless ability that comes on a kit, with that said why are you using it at all. this ability was much better back before they changed it. Why is it useless you might ask, well the consumables provided are on a shared cool down with the ones everyone should already have in there inventory/device slots.

On a further note, they really need to increase the stack size on ground and space consumables, 20 stack is just...........
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 133
# 3
10-22-2012, 06:07 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by umrathama View Post
Combat Supply is the most useless ability that comes on a kit, with that said why are you using it at all. this ability was much better back before they changed it. Why is it useless you might ask, well the consumables provided are on a shared cool down with the ones everyone should already have in there inventory/device slots.

On a further note, they really need to increase the stack size on ground and space consumables, 20 stack is just...........
I'm reporting a bug, if you don't like it, too freaking bad.

All I'm seeing here is sheer opinion, and a hyperbolic one at that. That shared cooldown you speak of, guess what, it's present on all consumables of the same basic type anyway. All heal, energy weapon buff, and shield ground consumables have the same shared timer.

Why am I using it? Because as an engineer, I don't have any other option for quick self-healing. The only alternative is medical generators which aren't fast enough in elite ground STFs. I've found that my survivability both when solo and in elite STFs goes up quite a bit when I have that infinite supply of heals. Between Reroute Power to Shields and the MACO shield regen ability, I don't need anything else for shields.

I also am good enough that I generally don't need more than just the health heal, so I don't need the others and don't care about a shared cooldown. What's more, the power recharges long before I use up all 5 charges of any one consumable, so I don't really care about the whole 20 stack thing.

So you see (actually you probably don't, you're probably too hard headed to be able to consider any other viewpoint, the vast majority of people are) just because you are incapable of conceiving of a legitimate reason to use something doesn't mean that nobody should use it. So why don't you keep your "this skill is holier than that skill" nonsense to yourself?

Last edited by zenzenarimasen; 10-22-2012 at 06:09 AM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
# 4
10-22-2012, 08:32 AM
Your rant is meaningless, Why you might ask, well if you truly were reporting a bug then it would have been put into Gameplay Bugs under the support section of the forums, however you opened your thread under Feedback for discussion thus allowing anyone to comment on the power its self and not the "bug" you were reporting.

In short you just got through yelling at someone giving you advice on why you should not even be using the power in question. For all you know the power is "working as intended".

Perhaps next time you should pay more attention to were your posting threads....

FYI there is an engy kit that comes with an additional shield heal, I don't recall what it was called however it also comes with fuse armor and weapon malfunction and equipment diagnostic, to the best of my recollection.

Last edited by umrathama; 10-22-2012 at 08:39 AM.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 568
# 5
10-22-2012, 08:57 AM
Whoo boy.

Bit warm in here, eh?

Last time I checked on my Engineer, Combat Supply dumped its contents into the Captain's Personal Inventory slots, exactly the same way as any other new "personal device" item... but I suspect the problem you're seeing is that your slots have become "locked out", which isn't a problem with Combat Supply as much as the inventory system (and power system) itself...

When you move a power/inventory item/etc. from one location to another, the contents of the locations swap - the contents of the old location aren't "deleted". And what you might actually see as a "blank" slot isn't always empty: it might have had something in it at one point, and then for whatever reason that thing went away (was consumed or expired, etc) without clearing the link between it and the slot... which basically renders that slot 'unusable'. This means that if you pickup a new item (or BOFF power, or whatever) then it won't auto-populate that blank-but-not-empty slot with the new item... instead it will try and auto-populate the next slot, in an ordering system that I'm sure makes sense at the code-level, but which often ends up looking completely random to us as players.

For BOFF Power Tray slots, you can reset a slot completely by dragging the power off the tray completely (which empties it). Doing this will make powers able to auto-populate those slots (which happens whenever you gain more powers or swap BOFF assignments).

For Personal Inventory slots, you might have to get a bit more creative to "empty" them. I haven't had to do this in a while, so I'm unsure exactly what would be required... however you could try dragging another item into that slot from your inventory (example: a small hypo) and then selling/consuming/discarding it. If you can reach the point at which any new captain-usable items you pickup go straight into those personal inventory slots, you'll know that those slots have been flagged as "empty". At that point, Combat Supply should work as you expect it to.

[Edit]
Oh, and I use Combat Supply.
Free Large Hypos/Shields/Batteries for two clicks and a kit swap? Fun times
[/Edit]

[ <<<--- @Maelwys --->>> ]

Last edited by maelwy5; 10-22-2012 at 09:02 AM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 AM.