Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 501
# 1 Controller
11-28-2012, 07:03 PM
My apologies if this has been answered before, I couldn't find anything on it... So here goes:

I have a USB controller, which Windows Vista picks up as a "gamepad 3 turbo", STO picks it up as a Joystick but without going and messing with the keybind file (which I fear I may mess up) can I have it remapped how I want? Everything's fine on the controller tab of my options but when I got to choose a key bind, pressing the buttons doesn't work, only thing it picks up is the left and right thumbsticks, but not L3 and R3 (pressing them).

What I'm mostly after (since setting it up for Space may be a little bit too much) would be:
(Ground RPG controls)
Aim mode - L1
Fire 1 - R1
Fire 2 - R2
Fire 3 (Melee) - Square
Switch weapons - Triangle
Jump - X
Interact - Circle

Any ideas, let me know, thanks in advance for any advice!

"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe." - Carl Sagan
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,147
# 2
11-28-2012, 08:06 PM
I've never seen the attraction of using a gamepad with this game, but each to his own.
You should see if you can download a driver for your gamepad to see if it will enable all of the buttons, some even allow you to remap buttons outside of the game.
In Options/Controller enable the Joystick Option, this will open its own mapping list, you set up your controls there first before going into the keybinds. There is no way to get around making some changes to the keybinds but if you mess up you can always reset it to defaults.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 501
# 3
11-29-2012, 06:35 AM
Thanks for the quick response, I'll have a look for the driver today.
I only really want to use it to make things like the Manus room easier (I'm pretty useless at doing the whole jumping across boxes bit).

"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe." - Carl Sagan
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 501
# 4
12-12-2012, 03:14 PM
Hmm, ok so I've hit a snag, my controller is a 'cheap' PS3 controller, it's not an official Sony one, Windows has chosen its driver as "Gamepad 3 Turbo", I still can't seem to key bind anything but the joysticks, and I can't seem to change the driver for it, although it's been a while since I've done that so I may be in the wrong spot.

"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe." - Carl Sagan
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 501
# 5
12-13-2012, 12:34 PM
Ok, I fixed it. What I did in the end was get a program called JoyToKey. Then I removed all button assignments on STO except for those for the two joysticks and then assigned all the buttons in JoyToKey.

"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe." - Carl Sagan
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
# 6
12-13-2012, 02:01 PM
I use a xbox 360 controller for ground combat, i hardly ever use my buffs and debuffs so rather than mashing,1111111112,1111112,111112. I tap xxxxxy,xxxxxy,xxxxxxy. i find it easier and i get less cramps.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 PM.