Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,719
# 121 40 second page refresh
06-04-2013, 05:49 AM
Let's see about 20 - 40 seconds to refresh a page today. Day by day getting slower and slower, hardly worth looking now and a real shame.

By comparison my own fleet forum pages refresh in about 0.2 seconds.

PWE, please sort out the forum!

FLTCDR SRS FLEETS - S.R.S. - S.R.S. ACADEMY - SRS GUARDIANS - SRS KDF
Join Us www.srs-fleet.net/html/join_srs.html
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,814
# 122
06-04-2013, 06:04 AM
Funny thing about pwe and cryptic.
The forums are horribly slow yes, but most of the site doesn't work well on ios.
It is one of the most popular browsers in the world and cryptic doesnt support it.
A year ago when they switched to this format and we all complained about the incompatibility cryptic said they would get right on it to fix it.
Over a year and nothing.
Then I see neverwinters site and it has the same problem.
The only conclusions that I can see is that pwe doesn't want to even try make their site compatible.
Career Officer
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,673
# 123
06-04-2013, 07:10 AM
right now and since yesterdays emergency fix on the server, only a quarter of the time can i post any message at all. the rest of the time it hangs so much it gives me one of them reference tickets almost all the time. there were 4 posts i wanted to push on, but have failed and as a result everything i wrote up has disappeared or i attempt to push through it and try get the reply through just brings up a white window before double checking the forum and find out nothing was posted.

im virtually certain the website and forum is linked on the server in some form, because both services (the interwebs and game) should always be seperate incase of a real emergency. but in this case if the server is down and i mean really down, i suspect the website and forums will be offline as well and no one will know what is going on besides twitter.

just now i attempted to post this reply and had the same issue popping up, "Unable to process your request."
T6 Miranda Hero Ship FTW. Been around since Dec 2010 and LTS in Apr 2013.
Quote:
The highest possible stage in moral culture is when we recognize that we ought to control our thoughts.
- Charles Darwin.
Does he have a point on STO forums? makes you wonder, huh?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,974
# 124
06-04-2013, 07:12 AM
Oddly enough, the fan forum that I frequent just got a nice update this morning from Proboards. Our little forum is now nicer than the STO main forums lol. So yeah, we could use an update here for sure.

-Lantesh
Since Feb. 2009

It's time for STO to get a complete UI overhaul.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 228
# 125
06-04-2013, 07:16 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalpen View Post
Funny thing about pwe and cryptic.
The forums are horribly slow yes, but most of the site doesn't work well on ios.
It is one of the most popular browsers in the world and cryptic doesnt support it.
A year ago when they switched to this format and we all complained about the incompatibility cryptic said they would get right on it to fix it.
Over a year and nothing.
Then I see neverwinters site and it has the same problem.
The only conclusions that I can see is that pwe doesn't want to even try make their site compatible.
I use my iPad for the forum too. I have also problems with this site. Especialy with german Umlaute.

And why no Tapatalk support? There ist allready a plugin for vBulletin.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 78
# 126
06-13-2013, 07:49 PM
Why is it still saying the servers are all ok with the green light on when you first launch the game yet no one can even get on to sto in the first place? surley if the games down they should keep that red on intill they have the issue sorted out!!! Plus on the patch notes it doesnt look like they did much so why is the game broken again in the first place? Man this seems like the norm for STO and theres got to be a problem every week no matter what!!! Thanks lads you do a great job!!!! NOT!!!!!!!!!!!
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,251
# 127
06-13-2013, 08:28 PM
Why is it a reason that you need to re-upload avatars etc or loose PMs and subscriptions? I only ask as I upgraded my own site from vB 3 to vB 4 a few months back and I didn't need to do this nor did any members, nor did anyone lose any PM's or subscriptions. True my site is nowhere near as big as STO.

Is the STO site heavily modified from the stock vB? That would make sense as I noticed a huge amount of features aren't available on this site, albums would be good for players to post their in-game screenshots for example, groups could be a good thing for fleets etc.

Either way good luck with the upgrade.
Quote:
Originally Posted by macronius View Post
Cryptic is sloppy. Breaking News at 11. This is what happens when there is no outline or plan and you just make up **** as you go along.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shredder75 View Post
We can tell our great grandchildren, "In my day, our cloaks were so sensitive that even dialogue broke them and we couldn't change our clothes!"
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 53
# 128
07-14-2013, 11:07 PM
I can't seem to find where to upload a custom avatar anymore. Did they take the ability away?
Ensign
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
# 129
07-16-2013, 12:08 AM
I'm surprised the people in charge opt to use vBulletin, it was good at one point but has degraded tremendously over the years and has lagged behind in so many modern web features in my opinion. I'd go with Invision Power Suite myself.

Online Gaming Clan: Clan mXm
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 744
# 130
07-16-2013, 04:12 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkphoxy View Post
I can't seem to find where to upload a custom avatar anymore. Did they take the ability away?
For whatever weird reason, there's two ways to change your avatar. You can click the "Edit Your Avatar" link at the top of the page, which allows their default avatars and changing title. OR you can go through the User CP, and click "Edit Avatar" there. That allows you to upload a custom avatar or pick a default avatar. Why can't you upload an avatar, choose a default avatar, and change your title on one page? I don't know. It's silly.
Join Date: July 29 2008
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:10 AM.