Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
My college currently has our internet pretty much on lockdown, after it was found out that someone was doing some very illegal activity, because of this, my STO launcher has been blocked by our school's filter, and I was wondering if perhaps there was a way to bypass this and play directly through the exe?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
08-02-2010, 10:41 AM
No. Use your own laptop or something.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
08-02-2010, 12:02 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miiru
No. Use your own laptop or something.
Are you 3? Its not his computer thats the problem...

Unfortunately, I dont have a solution for you, you could try asking your school to unblock access to the STO launcher, they may comply, but if there has been illegal activity as you have said, they may be reluctant for a while.

Otherwise, go to your dean, scream in his face that your parents are paying obteen abouts of money and demand your allowed to play games instead of study...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
08-02-2010, 01:38 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by freedomfighter View Post
Its not his computer thats the problem...
The problem is that he's using somebody else's computer (the school's), does not have administrative access to it, and does not have sufficient access privileges to run the game.

The solution is to use his own computer.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
08-02-2010, 02:15 PM
On Windows 7 and possibly Vista: Start, Run: C:\users\Public\Games\Cryptic Studios\Star Trek Online\Live\GameClient.exe

Assuming you are completely patched and up-to-date (which requires the launcher, which you can't run) and that your account is in good standing and paid up, and you have appropriate Windows permissions, it will work.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
08-02-2010, 02:26 PM
running the gameclient will not work as the launcher has to pass information to the gameclient for it to connect and login to the server. Aslo you would need ports 7000-7500 to be unblocked and unfiltered which the school network is likely blocking.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
08-07-2010, 06:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miiru
The problem is that he's using somebody else's computer (the school's), does not have administrative access to it, and does not have sufficient access privileges to run the game.

The solution is to use his own computer.
The problem is that the school's network firewall is blocking the ports he needs to run the launcher.

Getting his own computer won't fix it because he will still be behind the schools firewall.

If it was that he didn't have the privileges to run the game, then he wouldn't had been able to install the game in the first place.

His only solution is to ask the schools network administrators to open up the ports he needs so that he can connect to the login server.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
08-07-2010, 07:40 AM
This post has been edited to remove content which violates the Cryptic Studios Forum Usage Guidelines ~GM Tiyshen
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
08-07-2010, 02:58 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enterprise-D View Post
The problem is that the school's network firewall is blocking the ports he needs to run the launcher.
No, he's been quite clear that it's the launcher program which is blocked (probably via IE lockdown in group policy). If it was just network access, then there'd be no point in trying to run gameclient directly.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
08-07-2010, 03:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miiru
No, he's been quite clear that it's the launcher program which is blocked (probably via IE lockdown in group policy). If it was just network access, then there'd be no point in trying to run gameclient directly.
Sorry, but do you really think that they would just put a block on the terminals and not on the network itself when some illegal activity has been discovered? If that is really what they have done, then their security team should get fired.

If he don't get past the small window that you get when the launcher itself is being updated, then it's the ports that is being blocked in the firewall.

What happens after the launcher window appears and is updated:

The launcher is asking for this URL from IE: http://launcher.startrekonline.com/launcher_login
Then the launcher itself tries to contact the login server after you have typed in the username and password.
If it's accepted then it will ask for another URL from IE: http://launcher.startrekonline.com/launcher
and then ask the update server if there is something to update.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 PM.