Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
# 1 Appointing bridge officers
11-22-2012, 07:01 PM
Hello all,
I just started playing this last week, and although the learning curve is pretty steep, I seem to be doing okay. I have a vulcan science officer, and currently I have a Constitution class cruiser, about to make Commander in 2 more missions.
I have scratched my head quite a bit trying to figure this out, and I can't for the life in me, get this to work. In the "U" menu, when I look up the ship, and go into positions, I see I can appoint 4 bridge officers, 2 for engineering, 1 for science, and 1 for Tactical. I was able to appoint an officer for every position, except for the science position. I have been upgrading their skills as I go, even promoted him trying to get him into the position, and so far, I haven't been able to get that guy into that position.
To make matters worse, I just did the planet killer mission, where I borrow a Klingon ship, and upon successfully completing that mission, now I am unable to fill any of those 4 positions on my ship. No matter what I do, I select their names in the drop down list, and selecting them does not put them in the position.

I know the learning curve is pretty steep for me, but any idea what the heck is wrong?
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 441
# 2
11-22-2012, 07:02 PM
Known bug. If you switch ships, it should get everything working right again.
****
Lagging, D/Cing, or rubberbanding? Here's some help.

Current ships: A lot. RTR 15 National Championships....and counting
Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
# 3
11-22-2012, 07:10 PM
Thanks. I loaded up my previous ship, and went back, and it's all fixed.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 129
# 4
11-22-2012, 08:57 PM
this bug was not fixed with latest patch ,nor was the "chatbug " .Even though both of them were reported ad nauseum by players ( in tickets and in these very forums ) .Has someone checked if the "stranded in space "mission now works properly ? That - very first - mission had bugs like : NPC's and foes stuck in bulkheads ,team of player transporting into Asura 160 meters removed from that player etc.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 147
# 5
11-22-2012, 11:32 PM
the good thing is, is STO is still attracting new players. me being one of them. been playing pretty consistently for the last 4 weeks.

although my play time has slowed greatly due to finals. but i'm already level 28
Career Officer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 294
# 6
11-23-2012, 04:10 AM
devs are too busy planning their next screw up... err patch to bother fixing this.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:53 AM.