Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 522
# 41
12-27-2012, 10:59 PM
One thing that would greatly help would be if the initial 5 reviews counted twoard calculating average times which currently they do not. You can generally get 5 people to play the mission to get it out of review but once it shows up on the main list with that red text flaoting above it no one wants to touch the thing.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 114
# 42
12-28-2012, 05:56 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajstoner View Post
One thing that would greatly help would be if the initial 5 reviews counted twoard calculating average times which currently they do not. You can generally get 5 people to play the mission to get it out of review but once it shows up on the main list with that red text flaoting above it no one wants to touch the thing.
Aye, my new mission is red-texted and now I consider it to be dead on arrival; partly due to testing it before it was developed enough (i.e. several 3-5 min or less tests) both in the Foundry and in Holodeck. The current run through time for me with a very well equipped ship is 25-30 minutes; last night I ran through it with a second player and we spent more than an hour (due to the increased number of ships). Still red-text'd.

I'd be in favor of separating this system a bit to limit this from occurring:
Level 1 - 5-10 minute missions: 320 dil (1/3 standard) 20 marks
Level 2 for 10-20: 640 dil (2/3) 40 marks
Level 3 20-45: 960 dil (what we're currently receiving) 60 marks
Level 4 45+ : 1440 (what we used to receive) 80 marks

This is based on the average run time of the mission. Although, I imagine most missions will be tricked into the Level 4 category initially, after a few run-throughs it'll drop to the more appropriate level.

Is there anyway to copy maps to a new mission?!?
There are Four Lights... say no to ARC
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fleet: 1st Order of Role-Players' Guild - gaming together since 2004

Last edited by tjexcimer500; 12-28-2012 at 06:53 AM.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 514
# 43
12-28-2012, 07:26 AM
I think you can copy the entire project, and then just delete the original. In fact, I may do that in future to ensure that once it goes 'live' it's a clean slate.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,376
# 44
12-28-2012, 07:48 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by zahinder View Post
I think you can copy the entire project, and then just delete the original. In fact, I may do that in future to ensure that once it goes 'live' it's a clean slate.
I did it once by accident but forgot how I did it. A 'save as' option sure would be nice.
KBF Lord MalaK
Awoken Dead

You're gonna upgrade my Chel Grett for FREE but charge me $30 to upgrade my Kamarag ?
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 514
# 45
12-28-2012, 07:49 AM
I think you go into archived projects tab from main project listing. It's not very intuitive.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 114
# 46
12-28-2012, 08:32 AM
You can copy an entire published project and rename it and thus have your prior maps available. However, this has two problems:

1) it keeps the ratings/status from a prior published project - hence if it was red-flagged before, it's still red-flagged - and the reviews become meaningless or detrimental to your new project. not true - sorry - just tested this and it does remove the ratings! I thought when I created this new mission by reusing a previous one for its maps I did it this way - turns out I just edited the non-archived project.

2) You cannot combine maps from different projects.

This seems like such an obvious option to include in the foundry and it befuddles me to no end that there's not a simple button to transfer your map or save maps independently of projects - especially when they allow you to create such works of space art that you may want to reuse..

The same can be said for your NPCs and their costumes... it's mind-boggling that this isn't an option here.
There are Four Lights... say no to ARC
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fleet: 1st Order of Role-Players' Guild - gaming together since 2004

Last edited by tjexcimer500; 12-28-2012 at 10:14 AM.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,876
# 47
12-28-2012, 08:48 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjexcimer500 View Post
1) it keeps the ratings/status from a prior published project - hence if it was red-flagged before, it's still red-flagged - and the reviews become meaningless or detrimental to your new project.
Are you sure? Granted I have not done this for a little while, but the last time I used the import project button, which allows you to create a new mission by copying one of your other missions, published or not, it created an entirely new mission with no ratings on it.

Actually that's not true, the last time I tried it it bugged out on me and didn't copy over any of the maps. So the above is the last time I successfully tried it, lol.

Anyway if this has changed we need to know about it.
The Foundry Roundtable live Wednesdays at 7:30PM EST/4:30PM PST on twitch.tv/thefoundryroundtable
Forum Logic dictates that if the devs don't do what a poster wants, they therefor actively hate what that poster is advocating for.
Forum Logic =/= Real Logic
Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,241
# 48
12-28-2012, 09:01 AM
Your test times within the Foundry shouldn't matter, right? Only the ones on the Holodeck?
Christian Gaming Community Fleets--Faith, Fun, and Fellowship! See the website and PM me for more. :-)


Sig by gulberat. Avatar credit to balsavor.deviantart.com
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 114
# 49
12-28-2012, 09:57 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by drogyn1701 View Post
Are you sure? Granted I have not done this for a little while, but the last time I used the import project button, which allows you to create a new mission by copying one of your other missions, published or not, it created an entirely new mission with no ratings on it.

Actually that's not true, the last time I tried it it bugged out on me and didn't copy over any of the maps. So the above is the last time I successfully tried it, lol.

Anyway if this has changed we need to know about it.
Thanks drogyn1701 - It turns out it doesn't keep the ratings! I thought I created my new mission using one of my old maps by the archive method, but I must have just edited the current project instead.

So now my project is still red-text'd but at least in theory the previous times recorded to it are erased. Now all I need to do is get it played a few times to test...
There are Four Lights... say no to ARC
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fleet: 1st Order of Role-Players' Guild - gaming together since 2004
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 19
# 50
12-28-2012, 11:49 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by designationxr377 View Post
Well, in the topic of the OP.

[ ... ]

I can't say if it is the process building up to qualifying doing harm or not. To make a qualified guess we'd need more data. I'm afraid Cryptic is the only folks with it.
I dont think the "15 min rule" itself is a problem. The real problem is the missing transparency. When will a mission be checked? What is the current mission time for the rule? What can be done if the mission slipped out of the rule? ...

One might say the Devs took the most dumb way to implement this foundry obstacle. The easiest way would have been to grant the OR depending on users mission time amount.
But I guess they were a bit upset on the foundry abuse and felt urged to nerf the whole foundry com.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:58 PM.