Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,416
First time I got a chance to use the Foundry since Season 7 went live.


NPCs and BOFFs are falling throught he ground. Even after increasing the value on the Z-axis.

If there is a workaround, would appricate some tips.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
# 2
01-01-2013, 12:54 PM
I also noticed this in a mission I'm building. I'm wondering if it'll do that on Holodeck too? When I publish and test, I'll update you all.
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13,083
# 3
01-01-2013, 01:04 PM
see: http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...=458791&page=5

Short version: preview mode is bugged.
HAIL HYDRA!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
I can haz joystick!
MMOs aren't charities. Corporations are supposed to make a profit. It's what they do.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,416
# 4
01-02-2013, 02:31 AM
Really think this is part of the Preview Bug? While this was foundry-releated and BOFFs warping disappearing, I encountered something similar with the Romulan Werehouse mission. BOFFS disappeared and Warped.

So hopefully they will soon find the error. Really would suck if players got 1 stared because of it.
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13,083
# 5
01-02-2013, 07:16 AM
Oh, was this in a non-preview test play? I dunno then.
HAIL HYDRA!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
I can haz joystick!
MMOs aren't charities. Corporations are supposed to make a profit. It's what they do.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,416
# 6
01-05-2013, 02:15 AM
This was in test play.

No matter what I do in trying to fix things, nothing is working. Changing the Y values isn't helping, and changing the Zero Alitude doesn't help, weither if it's Zero, Room Floor, or Legacy Room Floor.

But I noticed that in normal pre-made zones, they aren't warping or falling through the ground. So apparently the Foundry is not accepting the customized Foundations as valid floors.
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13,083
# 7
01-05-2013, 02:36 AM
Yeah, Zero mentioned that it's related to how pathing is calculated. IE pathing data doesn't exist in preview mode so Boffs and enemies don't know how to move around things. It's NOT the floor...
HAIL HYDRA!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
I can haz joystick!
MMOs aren't charities. Corporations are supposed to make a profit. It's what they do.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 126
# 8
01-05-2013, 04:37 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by markhawkman View Post
Yeah, Zero mentioned that it's related to how pathing is calculated. IE pathing data doesn't exist in preview mode so Boffs and enemies don't know how to move around things. It's NOT the floor...
I can verify this as well. Every map I've tested, especially ones where there are narrow paths/obstacles, the Away Team and pathing mobs vanish in preview mode. All of it works just fine, though, when playing the mission in live.

I have to say I sure would rather test it out properly before publishing and then fixing all the pathing bugs, etc.


by @Skydawn - member of Starbase UGC
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,202
# 9
01-05-2013, 01:18 PM
I have the same issue in preview mode. Everything is fine when it's published though, even if the game doesn't really like the deadly combo custom indoor map + patrols. Some groups will ignore a point, even when it's published.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,416
# 10
01-05-2013, 07:49 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by markhawkman View Post
Yeah, Zero mentioned that it's related to how pathing is calculated. IE pathing data doesn't exist in preview mode so Boffs and enemies don't know how to move around things. It's NOT the floor...

Yeah, someone else told me that glitch is only in Preview mode and after publishing it's fine.


But I don't think it has to do with pathing per se. Because I noticed that in premade maps, the NPCs act normal. But with "custom maps", thats when they bug. For instance, with one map, I use the Cirini interior and they fall through the foundation block (that is the new floor), and stop falling on the real map floor.

Too bad we don't have access to basic NPC pathing, like we have with patrol routes.


Well, I'm going to do my best to tolerate this bug and hope it's fixed before I publish or I publish without problems.

Last edited by azurianstar; 01-05-2013 at 08:10 PM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 PM.