Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Graphical and Sound Issues
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Captain
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,381
# 21
02-03-2013, 02:40 AM
I use windows 7 32bit with Galaxy Geforce GTX 560 with most up to date drivers and have not run into any situation you all so speak of. I don't mess with really any of the graphics setting other than if they allow certain shadows to be turned off and to sync refresh rate with monitor is all. These are just performance increasers for me is why i switch those is all!!!
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 40
# 22
02-21-2013, 01:42 AM
**deleted**
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 40
# 23
02-21-2013, 01:44 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by saltypineapple View Post
A bit late on my part, but thanks for the link.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 972
# 24
02-21-2013, 08:32 AM
i agree if u updated prob best to roll back to older driver it takes a while to find the driver that works well with sto for you.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 233
# 25
02-21-2013, 01:21 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddog0000doom View Post
im running x2 in sli nvida 580 with lastest drivers windows 7. amd 1100t 6 core liquid cooled

at the moment ive turned all sto settings to low or off (makes it alittle bit better) because the game is unplayable espcialy when u use mouse to look around the game stutters and laggs like crazy.

have tryed dx9 and 11x

im only having probelms with STO all other games work fine. crysis 2 metro skyrim etc.. all work fine with setting set to bloody hell.
Thats your CPU i hate to be the guy with bad news but STO isn't graphics heavy its CPU heavy and your CPU in no way can drive an SLI GTX580 setup combined with the CPU bound problem already and your actully hurting your preformance in SLI. Either upgrade your CPU to intel Core I5 or diable SLI for STO. The other games are GPU bound and you wont notice your CPU bottleneck becuase they do a lot less CPU work. I'm sorry but Phenom II competes with Core2 in IPC and you will get the same problems with a Core2
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 297
# 26
02-22-2013, 07:52 AM
I've got the same drivers and they work fine for me? I've got 2 GTX 260's and Windows 8 64 bit and a Sandy Bridge I7. I can't say that I've noticed anything like you describe.
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
# 27
01-14-2014, 02:58 PM
I have GeForce 9400 GT. Is this good? I can play the game fine when I lower my settings, but I was wondering what I could do to increase quality and performance.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 224
# 28
01-17-2014, 05:52 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by deffjurke View Post
I have GeForce 9400 GT. Is this good? I can play the game fine when I lower my settings, but I was wondering what I could do to increase quality and performance.
Unfortunately the 9400GT is a completely obsolete card at this point - it was an entry level card in it's time, and although the 8xxx/9xxx nVidia cards have aged well, after 7ish years they no longer hold up to modern titles. If your the rest of your system is about that vintage, your best upgrade path for the lowest cost to see distinct improvement would be one of the AMD A series APU - in the sub $200 range you can get a motherboard/CPU combo that integrates a graphics solution well above the 9400. If you are not running DDR3 in your current rig, you may need to shell out a bit for some new RAM as well.

If the GPU is the oldest part of your system, i.e. it's an old card you stuck in a new system, shop around for refurbished GPUs - eBay, Microcenter, and Amazon are good places to try - for instance, I just purchased 2 refurb nVidia GTX 460s for an SLI setup for $35 each at my local Microcenter. Shop around and see what you can find!

Cheers!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 PM.