Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 441
# 11
01-21-2013, 01:17 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrospider View Post
Sigh...


Does this company have any forum CS reps? Do they even deal with posts on this forum? All I see is moderating...
There's Branflakes, the Community Manager, but tech forums are left generally to peer-to-peer support.

If you want someone from staff to respond to a tech issue, try http://techsupport.perfectworld.com

That's the global PWE tech support board.
****
Lagging, D/Cing, or rubberbanding? Here's some help.

Current ships: A lot. RTR 15 National Championships....and counting
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 156
# 12
01-21-2013, 03:12 PM
Getting the same problems since Saturday. Its so annoying at times that I've started turning the game off. Looks like most of the hopes are fine, but 7255 and 7003 lags for over a minute when doing nettest.

Heres the traceroute info

tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 13 ms 8 ms 6 ms 10.148.0.1
2 9 ms 10 ms 10 ms 172.23.9.189
3 11 ms 10 ms 11 ms 172.23.9.1
4 19 ms 15 ms 15 ms 12.248.88.9
5 26 ms 22 ms 27 ms cr1.phlpa.ip.att.net [12.122.107.14]
6 21 ms 23 ms 23 ms cr1.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.122.5.241]
7 24 ms 22 ms 22 ms ggr4.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.122.105.13]
8 20 ms 20 ms 20 ms 192.205.37.134
9 75 ms 74 ms 84 ms te0-2-0-4.ccr22.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154..1.217]
10 28 ms 29 ms 25 ms te0-6-0-7.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154..0.29]
11 28 ms 27 ms 25 ms te3-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.4.130]
12 36 ms 35 ms 35 ms 38.111.40.114
13 27 ms 25 ms 25 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

And Nettest.

http://img547.imageshack.us/img547/2923/nettestw.jpg
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,848
# 13
01-21-2013, 03:30 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsf00181 View Post
Your net-test is showing that something else is using the Network connection while Net-Test itself is idle... Are you running something else (such as a third party utility) that is interfering with the STO Client ???
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 156
# 14
01-21-2013, 03:51 PM
Quote:
Your net-test is showing that something else is using the Network connection while Net-Test itself is idle... Are you running something else (such as a third party utility) that is interfering with the STO Client ???
Thanks, looked right over that. I'm usually pretty good about policing what I having coming in and going out. Can't find anything, but something is still using 7255. I'm going to run my virus scanner to see if It turns anything up. Just seems weird that the problem would start on Saturday when I haven't changed anything.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,459
# 15
01-22-2013, 12:29 PM
Still performing like ass.

After watching this for a while, it seems like the culprit is

---
tracert -d us1.proxy.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to us1.proxy.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.152]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 8 ms 8 ms 7 ms 72.71.241.1
3 11 ms 11 ms 12 ms 64.222.166.108
4 16 ms 17 ms 16 ms 70.109.168.138
5 215 ms 204 ms 251 ms 38.104.52.21
6 21 ms 25 ms 24 ms 154.54.30.18
7 25 ms 26 ms 25 ms 154.54.46.134
8 31 ms 34 ms 37 ms 38.111.40.114
9 25 ms 27 ms 27 ms 208.95.184.152
---

This router (te7-5.ccr01.alb02.atlas.cogentco.com).

It will periodically have lag spikes, as caught in the act in that trace, and drops occasional packets.

However: From crawling over wireshark's capture of the game traffic, I'm still getting packets from US1 constantly even while "Server is not responding". The game's chat still displays new messages, even. The traffic is liberally peppered with garbage about duplicate or missing packets, double acknowledgements, etc.

So it looks to my inexpert eye like a combination of an unreliable router in Cogent's rat maze, as well as absolutely miserable error recovery on STO's part. It misses a beat and then thrashes wildly for a while, even though the actual interruption in service was momentary.

Neither of these are things I can do anything about. Which is a shame because STO is basically unplayable if I want to do anything except doff assignments.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 182
# 16
01-23-2013, 05:10 PM
sitting in drozana, listening to the bad roleplayers and currently running at a disconnect warning of 180 seconds. this started today, took two days off and the server is laggier then ever. good thing i dont do elites anymore.
Commander
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 488
# 17
01-23-2013, 05:34 PM
Just started playing this two weeks ago or so. This lag is unplayable. Glad it happened before I bought some zen instead of after.

@momaw - I'm also having issues with what I assume is that router; it always times out in tracert and never displays an IP, so I'm not 100% certain, but it's always the hop before the 154.54.x.x addresses.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,459
# 18
01-24-2013, 01:44 PM
I've never used wireshark for this sort of analysis, so it's taking me a while to see exactly what's going on here. But....

Here is a short hiccup. 192.168.1.42 is of course me, and 208.95.184.152 is us1.proxy.crypticstudios.com aka the US proxy. I miss a packet which should be showing up between #3456 and #3457, so my client starts sending duplicate acknowledgements for packet #3453 which was the last thing I got in order before the dropped packet. And then packet #3473 is the server figuring out what's going on, and re-transmitting the part that got dropped.

If you look at the times, this was a ~170ms hiccup. Annoying, but hardly game-breaking since STO is not a twitch-based experience. In a hiccup like this, everything momentarily pauses and then resumes.

Where I get "server not responding" and game-destroying lag is that the retransmission of the packet I missed can take a LONG TIME. Even though I keep receiving packets from the proxy, the game can't actually proceed without the missing one because each packet is updating the relative game state. So I finally get the missing data, followed by some big chunky 1.5kb updates on everything I missed, and the game resumes. Elapsed time can be anywhere from 2 seconds to 10 and up. The fun part is that if any packets drop while the game is still waiting for a retransmission, it then has to wait for that second drop to get retransmitted as well. So the "server not responding" time can compound several times, potentially lasting minutes.

So.

The route between my computer and cryptic is free and clear, but the path back is fraught with peril, to the point that packet loss is maybe 5%.

I don't need to complain to my ISP, Cryptic needs to complain to theirs.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 182
# 19
01-24-2013, 02:14 PM
Took two days off from sto, and massive lag spikes and DC warnings. Games unplayable at the moment. Oh well i guess.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 281
# 20
01-24-2013, 02:21 PM
It's Cryptic's ageing servers. I suspect when the game went F2P, they never put any of the hundreds of dollars I spent on it, back into infrastructure. It'll get better when some people start leaving the game, hopefully.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:35 PM.