Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,740
# 101
08-01-2013, 11:23 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtern1ty View Post
A very useful tool for both pro players and the casual STO gamer alike to help refine their build. Thanks for sharing your work and continuing to maintain it. May you continue to do so for future ships and updates. Best of luck!
Thanks for the compliments and you're more than welcome. I actually, really enjoy tinkering in Excel on so complicated a spreadsheet. Heh. As for keeping it updated into the future, that's the plan. For instance...


New Version now available!

Release Notes:

STOPowerCalc.xls v8.3.01 (LoR):
- Added stats for Romulan Temporal ships:
* R'Mor Temporal Science Vessel and Talvath Temporal Destroyer
- Modified a couple formulae to account for more Romulan ships with MAM Cores.

How's that for service!?!


You can find/contact me in game as @PatricianVetinari. Original Join Date: Feb 2010.
Need Help with Ship's Power? Check out my Ship Power Guide and Calculator.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 55
# 102
08-06-2013, 03:25 AM
Just down loaded 8.3.1

seems many of the custom power modifiers are "broken"

Cells C 34, C35, C37, C38 have now become Yes/No pulldowns (not a data figure entry)

Same with K5,K6,K7,K8 and K12,K13,K14,K15

if a choice of yes or no is selected the game displays (blue boxes) show errors
Rihannsu
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 360
# 103
08-06-2013, 09:49 PM
its asking me for a Adapted Maco/KHG mark set value but in the drop down box there are no values to choose from.

Also, when I put in all 3 pieces of my adapted maco set im not seeing a +8.8 to aux set bonus in the calculator. in the game im at 59 aux power and in excel it has me at 51 and its showing only 1.8 set bonus

Last edited by captainbailey; 08-06-2013 at 10:00 PM.
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,740
# 104
08-07-2013, 10:11 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitova View Post
seems many of the custom power modifiers are "broken"

Cells C 34, C35, C37, C38 have now become Yes/No pulldowns (not a data figure entry)

Same with K5,K6,K7,K8 and K12,K13,K14,K15
That's very strange. I just took a look at 8.3.01 and I don't see any issues with the cells you're describing.

Here's what I'm seeing:
http://i.imgur.com/Mw3BkXn.jpg

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainbailey View Post
its asking me for a Adapted Maco/KHG mark set value but in the drop down box there are no values to choose from...
Another strange one, as again, I'm not finding any problems on my end, to wit, here's what I'm seeing in those fields:

http://i.imgur.com/T65Eacr.jpg

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainbailey View Post
...Also, when I put in all 3 pieces of my adapted maco set im not seeing a +8.8 to aux set bonus in the calculator. in the game im at 59 aux power and in excel it has me at 51 and its showing only 1.8 set bonus
The Calc doesn't know what buff to grant for Tactical Readiness until you select a Mark level for your Adapted MACO set. Once you enter "Mk XII" into D31 (from what should be a drop down, or you can type it in) you'll get the +8.8. The +1.8 is probably from a Zero-Point Energy Console, have you got one of these selected?

Bitova and CaptainBaily, I re-saved my copy of 8.3.01 that I pictured above as working, and labeling it as a "re-release" version, I republished it. Please redownload this copy and see if you're fixed. If not, can you post screenshots of what you're seeing, along with your version of Windows and Excel?

You can find/contact me in game as @PatricianVetinari. Original Join Date: Feb 2010.
Need Help with Ship's Power? Check out my Ship Power Guide and Calculator.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 55
# 105
08-07-2013, 10:31 AM
I'm using latest version of OpenOffice

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5471/9...d91c767a_c.jpg
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,740
# 106
08-07-2013, 10:49 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitova View Post
I'm using latest version of OpenOffice...
Ah. The last OO I tested was v3.4.1 (back in Feb 2013), and the Calc worked great back then, but you're using (checks OO's site), OO v4?

Did you use any versions of the Calc prior to v8.3.01, and did those work in OO v4? I'm just wondering what may have changed to cause the breakage. Was it something in the Calc, or something in OO...

Anyway, I'll try to find time to download OO v4 and tinker with the Calc there, to see if I can find/fix the problem.

ETA: I just retested OO v3.4.1 that I have on my PC still and Calc v8.3.01 works fine. I'll download OO v4 and see what's changed.

ETA: After installing OO v4, I have confirmed Bitova's problem. OO v4 puts validation on the cells you're having problems with (C34-38, K5-8, K12-15). I also noticed strange artifacting on the screen, specifically with regards to the sheet's formatting (borders and such).

Sadly it appears that the Calc is not fully compatible with Open Office v4.0. I have updated the notes in the OP regarding this.

Using OO v4 I was unable to duplicate CaptainBaily problem with the Adapted MACO set, that worked fine for me. So his issue may be unrelated.

You can find/contact me in game as @PatricianVetinari. Original Join Date: Feb 2010.
Need Help with Ship's Power? Check out my Ship Power Guide and Calculator.

Last edited by lordhavelock; 08-07-2013 at 01:16 PM.
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,740
# 107
08-07-2013, 01:32 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordhavelock View Post
...After installing OO v4... I also noticed strange artifacting on the screen, specifically with regards to the sheet's formatting (borders and such)...
Well this problem at least seems to be affecting others:
http://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum...hp?f=9&t=63161

People report downgrading back to v3.4.1 solved their graphics issue.

Still researching...

ETA: Ok, after performing several Google searches and also checking the OO forums, and I don't see anyone else reporting issues with validations being added to non-validated cells in Excel. I don't have access to the OO forums to post there about this issue (and no interest at this time to create an account). If you're an OO v4 user, I suggest posting about the problem. Their spreadsheet program is adding non-existant "Validation" to cells from an Excel sheet. Feel free to link them to my Power Calc.

You can find/contact me in game as @PatricianVetinari. Original Join Date: Feb 2010.
Need Help with Ship's Power? Check out my Ship Power Guide and Calculator.

Last edited by lordhavelock; 08-07-2013 at 02:13 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 55
# 108
08-07-2013, 10:34 PM
Thanks for all the debug work Lordhaverlock ..

I also understand your position re the time / effort to "fix and then ongoing support" your spreadsheet on what equates to "another environment"

In answer to your Q "what may have changed" I had (have) been using STOPowerCalc.xls vLOR.2.00 (LoR) which works fine with OO 4.0.0

Thanks again for looking into it
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 55
# 109
08-07-2013, 11:13 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitova View Post
Thanks for all the debug work Lordhaverlock ..

I also understand your position re the time / effort to "fix and then ongoing support" your spreadsheet on what equates to "another environment"

In answer to your Q "what may have changed" I had (have) been using STOPowerCalc.xls vLOR.2.00 (LoR) which works fine with OO 4.0.0

Thanks again for looking into it
Correction LOR.2.00 does not work with OO 4.0.0 .. however its "broke" in different ways, in that list values in the calculation tabs have been "lost / randomly changed " ... yup looks like a downgrade to a previous OO version is needed
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,740
# 110
08-08-2013, 07:49 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitova View Post
...I also understand your position re the time / effort to "fix and then ongoing support" your spreadsheet on what equates to "another environment"...
Thanks for understanding. Yeah, this spreadsheet was only created for my own use, but seemed suitable for others, so I've shared it. And since I continue to use it for myself, I keep it updated, even adding whatever features I reasonably can that others have requested. I don't get paid to do this (I even tried adding one of those PayPal Donate links for about a year, not a dime, despite thousands of downloads ). I'm not bitter. Just saying.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bitova View Post
...yup looks like a downgrade to a previous OO version is needed
Unless there's anyone out there that wants to Champion for Open Office 4 and work with their community to help discover more about/resolve this "bug", then yes, if you're wanting to use OO for my Power Calc, that appears to be the only solution.

ETA: I've updated the OP and FAQ with the status of Open Office.

You can find/contact me in game as @PatricianVetinari. Original Join Date: Feb 2010.
Need Help with Ship's Power? Check out my Ship Power Guide and Calculator.

Last edited by lordhavelock; 08-08-2013 at 08:32 AM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:15 PM.