Ensign
# 1 Some Vesta Questions
01-31-2013, 08:38 AM
So I've recently come back to the game, about 3 weeks ago. I didn't get very far the last time I played, a whopin' 39 days back at launch, so it goes without saying that I lack some practical experience on some things.

I've played hard the last few weeks, hit VA and have some questions now.

Firstly, I'm an engineer.
I just bought the vesta 3 pack

Currently I'm flying the "engineer" version of the ship for the additional engi consoles, but have come to the opinion that most engi consoles are sad compared to sci and tac ones and that I should probably switch hulls to one of those two, any opinions on that?

Having the 3 pack I was flying 3x aux cannons and all 3 of the special consoles. Yesterday I dropped one of the cannons in favor of a tricobalt torp launcher. In the aft I have a tricobalt mine launcher and 2 phaser beams (I'm a traditionalist, I love phasers). I was going to use turrets but not being able to use the subsystem targeting without beams felt like I was self gimping myself.

Ultimately I'm asking some veterans out there what hull should I fly and how should I outfit it, roughly. I'm very much enjoying the ship type, I've flown nothing but fatty cruisers up to this point and it's refreshing to be able to turn and react instead of just shrug and take it. So I really wana make this ship shine for me and any advice is welcome. thank you in advance.
Career Officer
# 2
01-31-2013, 09:00 AM
My opinion is that if you're not running 3 x Aux DHCs on the Vesta then you're not getting the best out of it.

Subsystem Targeting is nice but hardly essential so my (Tac) Vesta loadout would be:

3 x Aux DHCs
2 x Mk XII Advanced (Fleet) Phaser Turrets [Dmg]x3 [Acc]
Omega Kinetic Cutting Beam (for Omega Weapons Amplifier)

Mk XII Borg Deflector (+5 Aux)
Mk XII Jem'hadar Engines (+5 Weapons, +?.? Weapons*)
Mk XII Borg Shields (+5 Shields)

*additional Weapon Power bonus depends on the base weapon power