Captain
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 632
# 1 Lack of lightning,..
02-25-2013, 10:41 AM
Am I the only one struggling with this.

Some places are really dark.. that you can hardly see your own character face. Like on the shuttle bridge. KDF has this problem on most maps.

Is it really suppose to be like that?

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-3...25Februari2013

Last edited by thestargaze; 02-25-2013 at 10:44 AM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,361
# 2
02-25-2013, 10:44 AM
Someone call Zeus and put in an order for some lightning!

Yeah, there are some dark places. But nowhere near my Top 10 list of things Cryptic needs to fix ASAP
Sometimes I think I play STO just to have stuff to rant about on the forums!


Last edited by dracounguis; 02-25-2013 at 10:47 AM.
Commander
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 386
# 3
02-25-2013, 10:49 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dracounguis View Post
Someone call Zeus and put in an order for some lightning!

Yeah, there are some dark places. But nowhere near my Top 10 list of things Cryptic needs to fix ASAP
I was so hoping this would be a thread about adding weather effects.
Captain
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 632
# 4
02-25-2013, 10:49 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dracounguis View Post
Someone call Zeus and put in an order for some lightning!

Yeah, there are some dark places. But nowhere near my Top 10 list of things Cryptic needs to fix ASAP
LOL,.. my English... you know what I mean.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,917
# 5
02-25-2013, 10:56 AM
Yes, running with low quality video will make some maps extremely dark, and a flashlight is useless. The lower levels of Drozana are pitch black, so I've had to play them from the ui inset map until something appears that I can shoot at, then the guns light up the room.

Working as it's intended to- buy a high quality video card so you can see all the eye candy the devs are paid to produce.
KBF Lord MalaK
Awoken Dead

You're gonna upgrade my Chel Grett for FREE but charge me $27 to upgrade my Kamarag ?
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 887
# 6
02-25-2013, 01:11 PM
Actually no. I can see well on every map in the game. Including that lower level of Drozana where they make you take a flashlight. The flashlights don't seem to work for me at all, when I turn them on I see nothing. But I can see the interior fine in the so-called "darkness" anyway, so I have never actually needed to use it.

I have all my graphics options set to the lowest possible setting, so it may very well be that I am just not seeing shadows and lights properly on my PC.
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 268
# 7
02-25-2013, 01:20 PM
i despise not being able to see, fortunately there's a brightness adjuster in the video settings.
Fleet: Stargate-Union
Pizza: Pepperoni
Kalek shel'tek!

"Do not make me look foolish by allowing yourself to be murdered" -Lord Yu
Cryptic Studios Team
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,126
# 8
02-25-2013, 03:26 PM
Your individual gamma settings make a huge difference.
Goto Options>Video>Brightness Calibration Screen

and make sure you CAN read the darkest text. It should be dark, but not invisible.
-The Artist formerly known as Tumerboy



Quote:
Originally Posted by mightybobcnc View Post
Tacofangs, what is your beef with where's Sulu?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 273
# 9
02-25-2013, 03:29 PM
While I was hoping for awesome weather tech thread... Yeh the game is pretty dark sometimes.

Off topic would love to see some weather on planets, snow rain wind and lightening.

Also those awesome nebulas you fly into in sector space, lightening flashes energy discharges... Yes please!
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 891
# 10
02-25-2013, 09:59 PM
Not to argue the post from the Taco guy - but to me it looks like the screen-shotted toon is experiencing the shadow flicker issue I have been seeing when I have dx11 support enabled.

If I am standing (for example) at the ESD bank and back my camera off a bit, all of the toons around me have this flicker between normal and blackface going on. And its synchronic between all of the visible toon flesh...they all blink black and then normal all at the same time. Flicker constantly.

I have found that turning off shadows seems to somewhat fix the issue. But I found the best thing to do was to go back to dx9. At least then my Defiant doesn't have the black triangle o' bad textures on its underside.

I wonder if the shadow flicker in dx11 mode is linked to that shader compile error message I see when I launch the game when dx11 support is enabled?

And before someone says its my hardware - I play on an PC with an i7 processor, 12gb of ram, with an Nvidia GTX 670 video card. STO isn't that graphically challenging, unless you are playing on some crappy intel integrated vid card on a 7 year old laptop, maybe.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 AM.