Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I'm buying a new computer and I wanted to get everyone's opinion as to whether or not this computer would be able to run STO with everything maxed out. No sense spending a crap ton of money if I can't play STO in top form! Here are the specs on what I'll be getting:

Operating system Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-720QM Processor (1.6GHz, 6MB L2 Cache, 1333MHz FSB) w/Turbo Boost up to 2.8 GHz
Memory FREE Upgrade to 4GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm) from 3GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
Hard drive FREE Upgrade to 320GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
Graphics card 1GB Nvidia GeForce GT 230M
Display 18.4" diagonal High Definition HP Ultra BrightView Infinity Display (1920x1080p)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-11-2010, 06:49 PM
Processor is lacking a little, so you might experience some lag, but otherwise it looks fine to me.e
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-11-2010, 06:57 PM
Mobile GPUs do often have issues with fill rate though.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-11-2010, 07:08 PM
I run full-settings on my 9800M GTS with more than acceptable framerates at 1920x1200. Not sure where the 230 falls into the spectrum, though.

CPU actually looks fine to me. My lappy's got a Centrno2 dual-core at somewhere around that clockrate.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-11-2010, 07:11 PM
My laptop is running a Nvidia GeForce GO 7600, @1440x900. Seemed to work ok for CB.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6 This site holds the answer
01-11-2010, 07:18 PM
http://cyri.systemrequirementslab.com/srtest/
go to that site. it requires you to download a plugin but it will assess your system and compare it with the system requirments. couple of faults such as saying your graphics card is not good enough when it clearly is but just doesnt have the right name etc. very useful tool

EDIT--- personally i dont think you will encounter nay problems provided you run your processor at 2.8ghz not 1.6. everything else seems more than adequate
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-11-2010, 07:33 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanadord
http://cyri.systemrequirementslab.com/srtest/
go to that site. it requires you to download a plugin but it will assess your system and compare it with the system requirments. couple of faults such as saying your graphics card is not good enough when it clearly is but just doesnt have the right name etc. very useful tool

EDIT--- personally i dont think you will encounter nay problems provided you run your processor at 2.8ghz not 1.6. everything else seems more than adequate
I went to that site, and it told me I am fine, but it did not recognize my quad Intel Xeon CPU 5160 @ 3.00 GHz processors. Seemed to think I had some other single processor. So my guess is with those, I'll be much better than fine Thanks for the tip on the site!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-11-2010, 09:31 PM
That system exceeds minimum system requirements and actually meets recommended system specifications in all areas except graphics. The GT 230M is a little better than the desktop NVIDIA GeForce 7950 / ATI Radeon X1800 cards but my guess is you will have to use a lower resolution than 1920x1080p for high settings or turn off/lower some settings for max resolution. I bought almost the same laptop you are looking at except I have 6gb of ram and a 17.3" screen (1600x900).



Manufacturer NVIDIA
Series GeForce GT 200M
Codename N10P-GE
Pipelines 48 - unified
Core Speed * 500 MHz
Shader Speed * 1100 MHz
Memory Speed * 800 MHz
Memory Bus Width 128 Bit
Memory Type GDDR2, GDDR3
Max. Amount of Memory 1024 MB
Shared Memory no
DirectX DirectX 10.1, Shader 4.1
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:29 PM.