Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Nsis Error
01-12-2010, 03:48 AM
When I go to install STO from Direct2Drive I get a NSIS Error come up anyone able to help me understand what this error is please!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-12-2010, 03:51 AM
Bad/corrupted installer.

Does the D2D download have a way to CRC/Hash/Verify the file(s)?

If not you may be stuck re-downloading it all over again.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-12-2010, 03:52 AM
http://nsis.sourceforge.net/Why_do_I_get_NSIS_Error

You can try working through some of those, but its probably just a bad download.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-02-2010, 07:02 AM
Corrupt download? I got it on my dvd
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-02-2010, 05:26 PM
Same here. It won't run on my PC, but will run on my mother's laptop.

I tried running setup.exe /ncrc like the link suggests, but no good. I even disabled Norton AV because that would crash after trying to run setup. No change.

Is it possibly failing because my PC, which is going to be replaced with a new one, isn't a dual core? My instinct says no, and I'm leaning towards it being a DVD drive issue.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-04-2010, 02:15 AM
Here's a workaround that actually worked...

Short answer. If you've got enough hard drive space, copy the contents of the DVD to your hard drive, run from there, profit.

I didn't have that much space, so I copied the setup.exe, and ran it, causing it to at least make the appropriate directories under Program Files. Then, I copied the piggs folder from the DVD to the "proper" place on the hard drive.

When it was done, I ran the patcher, which installed/mirrored al the files that were missing.

Believe it or not, my creaky P4 2.8ghz with 6800GT will run STO at the lowest settings, but I was still able to bump up the res from 1024x768 to 1280x1024.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-04-2010, 02:59 AM
As long as you have your key from D2D, use http://files.startrekonline.com/inst...line_setup.exe to download and patch the game.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 PM.