Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 151
01-22-2010, 01:23 PM
Hey Moxie, thanks for the reply! I just adjusted those options as recommended in the catalyst AI control center, and I'll check it soon. Would check it right this second, but the shard just went down.

To answer your question, this doesn't happen with any other game I have, so I don't *think* its a particular card issue or even necessarily a seating issue.

I'm going to try those things first, and perhaps upgrade drivers. Thanks for the advice. I really appreciated straightforward help like that.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 152
01-22-2010, 01:34 PM
AA option is enabled again. So you can enable AA's right from the game Options now. I still had that "black lines on edges" issue after I tried enabling AAs. It seems to be ATI/STO specific problem though. Gonna try again tonight... IF .. I don't get disconnected,
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 153
01-22-2010, 01:36 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moxie3000
Well, that's certainly a unique kind of artifacting. One of the things that I've found with Cryptic's engine (and probably other games, too), is that ATI's additional features like Catalyst A.I. and Adaptive Anti-Aliasing can really interfere with the image quality. With Champions Online, I learned that it's best to turn all of those features off and let the in-game engine handle all of the pretty image processing.

Here are my settings:

Anti-Aliasing: Use application settings
Anisotropic Filtering: Use application settings
Catalyst A.I.: Disbled (i.e., the Disable Catalyst A.I. box is checked)
Mipmap Detail Level: Quality
Wait for vertical refresh: Always Off (though I think a game can override that)
Adaptive Anti-Aliasing: Disabled (i.e., the Enable Adaptive Anti-Aliasing box is UNchecked)
OpenGL Settings, Triple buffering: UNchecked

The other thing is that it appears you're running an older driver. I don't know if it's because you're on a 5000-series card, but I'm running the drivers from December 2009:

Driver Packaging Version 8.681-091124a-092499C-ATI
Catalyst™ Version 09.12
Provider ATI Technologies Inc.
2D Driver Version 8.01.01.984
2D Driver File Path /REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet001/Control/CLASS/{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0000
Direct3D Version 8.14.10.0716
OpenGL Version 6.14.10.9232
Catalyst™ Control Center Version 2009.1124.2131.38610

I'm almost willing to bet that upgrading your drivers AND turning off the extraneous ATI features will fix it.
Otherwise, you may actually have something physically wrong with the card.

Top things that could break physically:
- Improperly seated. Remove the card and plug it back in firmly, verifying that the bottom edge of the card is even with the slot and there is no vertical give when you press down on it.
- Power supply connector. For that matter, make sure you've got a beefy power supply to begin with. I'm not sure on the specs for the 5000-series, but for the 4000-series, they recommend a minimum of 500W.
- Fan failure. Though gauging from your posted temps, that may not be the issue.
- Bad card. Looking at the noise you're getting, I'm wondering if it could be just a bad card with a faulty texture processor. Does this happen in other games?

Hope this helps.
Running 5870 here as well. Same glitch when turning on AAs.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 154
01-22-2010, 01:39 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroNavigator
AA option is enabled again. So you can enable AA's right from the game Options now. I still had that "black lines on edges" issue after I tried enabling AAs. It seems to be ATI/STO specific problem though. Gonna try again tonight... IF .. I don't get disconnected,
Wasn't this problem in CO aswell?

It was ATI 5*** specific problem with AA.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 155
01-22-2010, 01:43 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lumirel View Post
Wasn't this problem in CO aswell?

It was ATI 5*** specific problem with AA.
All I know is that the issue sprung up around 5 days before closed beta, well, closed. It had to do with some new effects they put in game with that patch and a conflict with ATI's latest catalyst drivers (09.12). It wasn't just 5xxx users who ran into the issue.

But either way, they fixed it in Wednesday night's patch and it works great for me.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 156
01-22-2010, 02:15 PM
I had the same problem and managed to sort it out. I rolled back my ATI driver to 9.12 and it sorted it out. My game looks amazing now. Have you tried doing that?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 157
01-22-2010, 02:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainWallis View Post
I had the same problem and managed to sort it out. I rolled back my ATI driver to 9.12 and it sorted it out. My game looks amazing now. Have you tried doing that?
...How do you roll back to 09.12 when those are the latest drivers available?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 158
01-22-2010, 06:53 PM
So I updated my drivers, and that seems to have fixed the in game issue. AA now works fine. However, I can't open my Catalyst Control Center now after updating the driver, but oh well. Can't say that I used it much anyway.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 159
01-26-2010, 12:53 PM
Thank you for allowing us to access AA on ATI HW! I can hardly express how disappointed I was when it was disabled, but all is forgiven!

It looks fantastic and works flawlessly on both of our gaming PC's (1 w/ 4870 and the other has 2 4870 in crossfire).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 160
03-25-2010, 09:34 AM
Meh, i'm still not seeing any FSAA. Can select the option from the options menu but it makes no difference in game
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:50 AM.