Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Vista/Win 7 users
01-11-2010, 11:16 PM
Some people might have issues with STO if they choose to install in a location other than the one recommended by the Cryptic Installer.

If you do have issues go into the install location of STO, open theCryptic Studios folder, then open the test file named "Error". If there are any errors about being able to write to a game file (see attachment), then you can correct his by telling Windows to run STO under Administrative priveledges.

To do this right click on the STO Application (Star Trek Online), open up the properties and then click on the Compatability tab. At the botton click the check box that says "Run this program as an administrator".

Then open the folder named Star Trek Online, then Live. Find the file named Game Client and do the same thing for that file as you did for the other one.

This will allow STO to write information to the program files. I was having issues in Beta and noticed that I was getting these write errors at the same time I was getting client crashes. Some research led me to this information about not installing in default folders and such.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-11-2010, 11:27 PM
Specifically if you install in Program Files, yes. We highly recommend not installing in one of those folders, almost anywhere else is preferable.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-11-2010, 11:30 PM
Good to know, thanks guys.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-11-2010, 11:42 PM
If you have permissions set up properly (or if you have installed something like - ergh - ********!) I find the best place to put MMO games that need updates is

/Users/Public/Games

Tends to work fine in there!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-11-2010, 11:52 PM
Pfft, I just disabled UAC altogether on my Vista PC.

But we won't have any trouble if it goes to the recommended spot right?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-12-2010, 12:00 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by proudnerd View Post
Pfft, I just disabled UAC altogether on my Vista PC.

But we won't have any trouble if it goes to the recommended spot right?
Thats honestly not a good idea, unless your looking for a virus or some other form of computer destruction. You should just turn UAC back on, and then right click the launcher or the shortcut and go to the compatibility tab then check the box that says run as administrator.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-12-2010, 12:05 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
Specifically if you install in Program Files, yes. We highly recommend not installing in one of those folders, almost anywhere else is preferable.
coderanger, my old friend! Great to see you're on STO as well. I missed you after I didn't subscribe to CO. Still having patcher problems?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-12-2010, 05:54 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warcorer View Post
Thats honestly not a good idea, unless your looking for a virus or some other form of computer destruction. You should just turn UAC back on, and then right click the launcher or the shortcut and go to the compatibility tab then check the box that says run as administrator.
ROFL. It may be a bad idea if you're an idiot, or if you aren't running any virus software. In all other cases, it makes Vista about a thousand times more user friendly.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-12-2010, 06:21 AM
My problem is setup.exe give compatibilty error. Have seen multiple possible solutions, but none have worked for me. Win 7 x64. Cryptic, please advise, I'm trying my third dl form different sites. 3.0ghz, 4mb ram, dula 8800gt's SLI. All drivers updated. Tried different compatibility modes. Run under admin.

Thanks
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48 AM.