Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 GameClient.exe Freezes
01-15-2010, 11:34 PM
So, I launch the game and it loads the character selection screen(i've already created a character). I select him and it loads the map and brings up the image of being an an elevator lift. The lift doors open and then the game freezes. The music keeps playing, but nothing happens. So I alt+tab+delete and bring up the task manage. It shows Star Trek Online as 'Not Responding". So I end the task and I get a message saying "Gameclient.exe not responding". Can anyone point me in the direction of what i need to do here? I've been so excited to particpate in the beat and have yet to make iit into actual play. Hopefully this is something with a fairly easy fix? I appreciate anyone's help here. Thank you!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-16-2010, 01:13 AM
been having this problem all day. Gameclient.exe is not responding. The application seems to be getting hung up by vista. all drivers are updated and there's obviously a conflict. wish they would get on this problem.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-16-2010, 01:39 AM
This happens with me as well when I test this on my laptop. I have also noticed that it hangs only when trying to load INTO Sol Sector. Is your issue localized like mine is? Everything else you described I have also experienced.

My laptop is older which is likely the problem, but if you are using a newer rig and getting this issue, it could be caused by something else. I believe it may be due to the population density of the sector and the inability for this comp's graphics card to interpret, then render the information on screen. As of yet I have had no issue on my desktop running XP and a GeForce card.

Perhaps if you post your computer's specs - especially the details about your graphics card - then an answer can be found.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4 same problem
01-16-2010, 07:43 AM
Hi, I am having the same problem. I am trying to "warp" into the Sol Sector but at about 90% the status bar is freezing :-(
I have a NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-16-2010, 08:06 AM
It happens to me as well. It usually only happens after the screen that shows the atari and cryptic logos but before you can select your character. Unless the drivers have been updated in the last few days then they are current. Oh and i am running 64bit windows 7.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-16-2010, 09:08 AM
I have just updated my drivers and the problem is still there.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-16-2010, 10:32 AM
Well, I'm glad to hear I'm not the only one with this problem.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8 Freezing
01-17-2010, 08:34 PM
Same thing here. I finished the Borg, then warped to Sol, where I get hung up. Terminated GameClient, restarted, and loaded right into the warp screen for Sol. GC.exe is also consuming well over 90% of my CPU, too.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-17-2010, 09:35 PM
Im having a freezing issue when im in pretty much any system... usually when im in the middle of combat
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10 Exactly
01-18-2010, 05:19 PM
This is exactly my problem. It goes to load starts to show the begining of the zone right after Character Creation and BAM! Freeze and Not Responding. So I would really like to know how to fix this..
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 AM.