Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 GPU Activity issue
01-12-2010, 10:57 AM
Hello,

I am using a HD4870 card - STO is making the GPU run at 100% ALL THE TIME, this cant be right? right?

and by all the time, i mean all the time, even on the very first log in screen.

I have an AMD phenon 9950 BE and the load on that is <30% at log in screens.

I updated my drivers and still same thing.

Suggestions?

Thanks
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyilin View Post
Hello,

I am using a HD4870 card - STO is making the GPU run at 100% ALL THE TIME, this cant be right? right?

and by all the time, i mean all the time, even on the very first log in screen.

I have an AMD phenon 9950 BE and the load on that is <30% at log in screens.

I updated my drivers and still same thing.

Suggestions?

Thanks
got the same problem on my nvidia 9800 gx2 realy strange
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3 Ditto
01-12-2010, 03:29 PM
My i7 Quad with Nvidia GTX 260 starts roaring like a jet engine right from launch.

To be honest, I'm concerned for the integrity of my hardware, wondering if this game is gonna cook my computer anytime I play.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-12-2010, 03:32 PM
Having the same problem with 2 nvidia 9800GT's in Sli, i have to force vsync on in the nvidia control panel to limit the framerate so my cards dont overheat.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-12-2010, 03:44 PM
I am having the very same issue here

my 4870X2 starts with 100% usage in login screen already. BUT only one of the cores is active, the other one idles about. Tried Catalyst AI in off, simple and advanced but to no avail... any suggestions?

also my CPU runs at about 30% load on the login screen. It is a AMD Phenom 9950 BE.

running Win 7 x64 and all latest drivers
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-12-2010, 03:56 PM
Yep have a quad core, it's also blazing all 4 cores 100%, I tried Champions online for literally 2 minutes, it was humming right from the start 100%. It's ridiculous. Ran Age of conan fine on max, crysis...etc. They all used no more then 50% or so. What is with these cryptic games, they're going to fry me out and sparks out the back fan...(yes it's happened before..)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-12-2010, 04:05 PM
The game will try and render as many frames as possible all the time. Use "/showfps 1" (or something to that effect, memory's a bit fuzzy) in-game to see your framerate- on loading screens, mine jumps to over a thousand.

You can try enabling VSync in the graphics options to force it to slow down.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-13-2010, 02:45 PM
Would be nice if a dev/gm was here to help out?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-13-2010, 03:06 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Div-II
Yep have a quad core, it's also blazing all 4 cores 100%, I tried Champions online for literally 2 minutes, it was humming right from the start 100%. It's ridiculous. Ran Age of conan fine on max, crysis...etc. They all used no more then 50% or so. What is with these cryptic games, they're going to fry me out and sparks out the back fan...(yes it's happened before..)
Hadn't gotten on untill last night after the downtime, was surprised, didn't lag or crash or discon once. CO like I said i was almost hitting 100% CPU usage, yet STO in space is inline with what I was getting in Conan, just a slight higher. On the ground and the spacedock I hit betwen 50-80% used. But it still sounds like i live under an airport :/
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 AM.