Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Ensign
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 21
# 1 Is the Exchange broken?
03-02-2013, 12:50 AM
I would first like to start by saying if this is in the wrong place I am sorry but I am not sure where else it should go.

I love Star Trek Online. This is the first time in my life I have actually found a game that lets my live out the fantasies I had when I was a kid watching TNG. I have been a player for almost two years now and overall love this game.

The reason I am posting this is because I am having trouble with an anomaly I have discovered about the Exchange. I do not know if I am just doing something wrong, if this is a bug, or if it is working or rather not working as intended. The exchange appears to be giving completely different search results for the same items depending upon certain categories chosen. I am always searching for the same item on the exchange even in the same space station yet the prices do not match up. I will use Bateret Incense as an example because that is how I discovered this.

If you search for Bateret Incense under All with Any quality you get a single unit price of 50k and stacks up to a full 250 unit stack for 8 million.

If you search for Bateret Incense under All with Rare Quality you get a single unit price of 20k up to 60k with a handful of stacks of only two units. No stacks larger than that.

If you search for Bateret Incense under Commodities with Any quality you get a single unit price of 8,200 up to 40K a single unit with only a handful of stacks with only two units in them again with no larger stacks. (I was seeing a unit price as low as 7,500 but after logging out and back in I can no longer find it.)

If you search for Bateret Incense under Commodities with Rare quality you get the same thing again as with Commodities Any quality.

All of this was noticed at Earth Space Dock.

If I list something to sell, where does it go and how is that decided? There is nothing I see that lets you choose where your items get placed and under what categories when you list them to sell so it must be automatic or random. I have constant trouble listing items for days and even weeks at a time for what the Exchange is telling me is a low price and it will never sell. Even when something does sell it appears to be random. I am aware that things on the Exchange do not sell unless another player buys them. I know how it works, or at least is supposed to work, but that is not the results I am getting when I use it.

Any help or comments on this would be greatly appreciated.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,003
# 2
03-02-2013, 12:55 AM
Was it ever not broken?

Always use category search when buying, the general search only seems to find overpriced things that have already been for sale for at least 4 days.

You can't even find these silly overpriced items in category searches, sometimes, because those only go up to 400 items, cutting off anything priced above the 400th.

Very broken, not expected to be fixed any time soon. Don't get me wrong, I'd love to see it fixed, and it annoys me to no end, but devs have pretty much stated that it's not top priority, because it'd be a pain in the hiney to fix, and most people already know and use the workaround anyway.
Ensign
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 12
# 3
03-02-2013, 12:58 AM
Yeah I noticed that the other day. I was looking to sell my first item and wanted to search to get a ballpark figure and when I searched under "all" there were only a few, but then searched under "rare" and there were a ton of them at throwaway prices....didn't make sense so I just vendored everything instead.
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
# 4
03-02-2013, 12:59 AM
I have noticed this too. its probably down to string handling and matching. As far as I can tell, items you post have a chance of showing up, but its more like a lottery.

till cryptic fix the exchange, only searching using various filters and comparing to find the lowest prices is the only option players have. Best to click search 2 or 3 times, as output can vary even with the same search perimeters.
Commander
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 393
# 5
03-02-2013, 01:09 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by reptilesbladex View Post
Any help or comments on this would be greatly appreciated.
Yes, the exchange is broken. Never use the "ALL" tab and try to use as accurate searches as possible, but realize that some of the search options give completely nonsensical results. It used to be a lot worse though. No 'price per unit' searches, no different categories for Duty Officers, etc.
Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3,255
# 6
03-02-2013, 07:09 AM
The exchange is broken since months, maybe a year, can't remember the exact update.
Some people made a lot of money using this bug.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 258
# 7
03-02-2013, 09:02 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by erei1 View Post
The exchange is broken since months, maybe a year, can't remember the exact update.
Some people made a lot of money using this bug.
The Exchange search function, which the OP was having problems with, has been broken since the game released.

As other posters suggested, avoid using 'All' whenever possible. There are a few items that exist only in the 'All' category (CXP bonus pools, skill bonus pools, and the like), but for everything else, you should search inside the specific category that contains the item you're looking for.

Also, the more expensive items didn't necessarily get lost in the more specific searches, they were probably just pushed off the list by all of the additional lower priced items that were found in the more specific search. If you want to see higher priced items that may still be a good deal in a flooded category, use the 'Sort by Price per Unit' option - that will give the cheapest items on a per unit basis first (e.g. if there's a stack of 250 Contraband at 8,750,000 and the next cheapest contraband is 40,000 per unit, it'll show the stack first).
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,229
# 8
03-02-2013, 09:47 AM
Well, here is a new one. A couple of days ago I noticed that I actually got the most results putting in the name of the item, and using the ALL filter, and I believe a rarity. Bottom line is that in order to find all the items, I am now searching 3 times instead of 2 to be certain I have the lowest price.
__________________________________
STO Forum member since before February 2010.
STO Academy's excellent skill planner here: Link
I actually avoid success entirely. It doesn't get me what I want, and the consequences for failure are slim. -- markhawman
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 104
# 9 The really sad part
03-02-2013, 12:58 PM
The really sad part is that database searches are not exactly a case of boldly going where no man has gone before. Granted, an MMO presents certain unique challenges of continuous updating, but this is all stuff that has been done before. Many, many times before.

I personally just avoid "All" and make my searches as specific as possible. Apparently my customers are doing the same, because my stuff seems to sell. OTOH, I never sell anything stackable, so that's a whole category of problems I never have to deal with.
Captain
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,223
# 10
03-02-2013, 01:05 PM
A minor thing that bugs me is Fleet Ship Modules being listed under Data Samples for some completely random reason.

Really should have their own tab, like keys.

And yes, the "All" function is totally useless.
--------------------------------------

"We are smart." - Grebnedlog

Member of Alliance Central Command/boq botlhra'ghom
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 AM.