Career Officer
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 489
# 61
03-03-2013, 02:24 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by grouchyotaku View Post
It could also be that in the real world, nearly all of the trans-pacific cable links are over-subscribed for their capacity...
That might be plausible if you're in Asia, but I'm in the U.S. and cross no trans-oceanic cables to reach Cryptic servers.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,199
# 62
03-03-2013, 02:51 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfreeman98 View Post
That might be plausible if you're in Asia, but I'm in the U.S. and cross no trans-oceanic cables to reach Cryptic servers.
If thats the case, then what does your Trace Route and Net Test results looks like? Unless you post that information, no one would have any ideas on whats causing your performance issues....
Career Officer
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 489
# 63
03-03-2013, 03:05 PM
Right now the problem is gone. (knocks on wood)

I did capture some traceroutes earlier (but lost them when the game blue screened my Windows - haha), and the traffic does go to the Cogent colo in the Boston area. Average latency for me is between 49ms and 113ms.
Commander
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 251
# 64
03-03-2013, 03:36 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubblygumsworth View Post
A wild fanboy appears.
Lol... not even close. But way to strawman.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gfreeman98 View Post
And you know this how? It could be an upstream provider issue, but it could very well be an issue within their data center(s). You seem to think "network issue" only means ISP issue.

As for "whining and crying" to Cryptic, they are the provider and we are the customers. Even if you're right and the problem is something 3rd party, it is Cryptic's responsibility to get it fixed.
See the other posts from people who actually know what they are talking about. The tools are out there, go make use of them if you are curious. If you cant be bothered, then you can either shut up and wait patiently til the problem is resolved, or whine and cry like a spoiled consumer about how it's Cryptic's responsibility to check every meter of cable between their servers and your basement.
___________________
The doors, Mister Scott!
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 721
# 65
03-03-2013, 04:15 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryeknow View Post
They havent resolved jack schitt. Game is still disconnecting every 10 mins or so and booting lots of players simultaneously. Its also messing up the launcher at times as well.
This,

It's hilarious when you're in an STF and one by one, the whole team freezes, and gets disconnected = FAIL

And we're talking about a vote kick?

Seriously,

Got disconnected, couldn't log right back on due to launcher issues, when I finally got back on, not only was the mission over, but I also had a leaver penalty.

Then there's the lag pulling me through walls at Earth spacedock.....the one minute delay when moving items in your inventory, or bank.....

GOODTIMES
"And at Warp 10, we're going nowhere mighty fast."-Scotty
Career Officer
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 489
# 66
03-03-2013, 05:30 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpolebreaker View Post
The tools are out there, go make use of them if you are curious.
I asked you how you knew, since you came across as having first-hand knowledge which I knew you did not. I do suspect you were a member of Delta Iota Kappa though.

If the problem was within Cogent's network or between Cryptic and Cogent, there's no tool an end-user can run to see that status.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tpolebreaker View Post
If you cant be bothered, then you can either shut up and wait patiently til the problem is resolved, or whine and cry like a spoiled consumer about how it's Cryptic's responsibility to check every meter of cable between their servers and your basement.
Listen tpolesmoker, you really need to work on your ad hominem attacks; the basement line is so beneath you. {rimshot}

While we are the customers of Cryptic, Cryptic is the customer of Cogent, and yes Cogent has the responsibility of keeping their service up and running. If they fail to do so Cryptic can find another provider. It's not our job to complain to Cogent on their behalf.
Commander
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 251
# 67
03-03-2013, 07:03 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfreeman98 View Post
I asked you how you knew, since you came across as having first-hand knowledge which I knew you did not. I do suspect you were a member of Delta Iota Kappa though.

If the problem was within Cogent's network or between Cryptic and Cogent, there's no tool an end-user can run to see that status.

Listen tpolesmoker, you really need to work on your ad hominem attacks; the basement line is so beneath you. {rimshot}

While we are the customers of Cryptic, Cryptic is the customer of Cogent, and yes Cogent has the responsibility of keeping their service up and running. If they fail to do so Cryptic can find another provider. It's not our job to complain to Cogent on their behalf.
Clearly, the shutting up and waiting patiently part is beyond you. I didnt realise it WAS your job to complain about cryptic not complaining to cogent... which of course you somehow know they arent doing? Why exactly are you ******** again?

But please, keep posting and see how much faster it makes the problem go away.
___________________
The doors, Mister Scott!
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,231
# 68
03-03-2013, 07:07 PM
Question ... Do the STO servers share bandwidth at Cryptics end with their other games? eg CO and NWN?
Federation Bushrangers
Federation & Imperial Bushrangers
Looking for an Australian/New Zealand fleet?
Sign up here:
www.bushrangers.net
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,199
# 69
03-03-2013, 07:08 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfreeman98 View Post
...
If the problem was within Cogent's network or between Cryptic and Cogent, there's no tool an end-user can run to see that status.
....
However, in the majority of cases where people have posted their Trace Route and Net Test results, the connection issues are showing up before the packets hit the PWE gateway, so issues within the private PWE network doesn't appear to be the problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkstocbr View Post
Question ... Do the STO servers share bandwidth at Cryptics end with their other games? eg CO and NWN?
Dev's comment indicate that CO does share the same network as the STO servers. But local LAN bandwidth is orders of magnitude faster (because of the shorter distances), and the total bandwidth used is much smaller then the Internet backbone networks, so its unlikely that the shared networks are the source of the problem...

Last edited by grouchyotaku; 03-03-2013 at 07:13 PM.
Commander
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 251
# 70
03-03-2013, 07:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by grouchyotaku View Post
However, in the majority of cases where people have posted their Trace Route and Net Test results, the connection issues are showing up before the packets hit the PWE gateway, so issues within the private PWE network doesn't appear to be the problem...


Dev's comment indicate that CO does share the same network as the STO servers. But local LAN bandwidth is orders of magnitude faster (because of the shorter distances), and the total bandwidth used is much smaller then the Internet backbone networks, so its unlikely that the shared networks are the source of the problem...
Dont try to tell mister freeman anything... since he KNOWS that there's no way for someone else to figure out where the problem might lie. Obviously the only solution is to yell at cryptic and throw childish insults at others on the forum who point out that the problem might not be where everyone seems to think it is.
___________________
The doors, Mister Scott!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 PM.