Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 31
01-14-2010, 12:43 PM
New ID: 6777781

Redownloaded via patcher, no change. Same crash
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 32
01-14-2010, 01:02 PM
For ***** and giggles, I thought I'd try and run the game on my laptop through sharing the installation folder. It works.....

So it is something on my PC conflicting with the game....but what?

I thought it might have been my overclock, so I put it back to stock. No change. Thought it might have been my use of beta drivers for my GTX 295. So I properly rolled back to the latest WHQL drivers. No change. It's stumping me! If only my dump files held the answer. Are there on moderators who could help me please? And see if there is an answer?!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 33
01-14-2010, 01:31 PM
Just out of interest does the laptop have an Nvidia card? Wondering if there is something to the driver issues that other people have been mentioning. If it does what version of the driver is installed?

Im sure you thought of that but just an idea.

I sent off a support ticket but i get the feeling that its gonna take forever to hear anything back.

Lets hope Cryptic can help us out before I loose my mind.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 34
01-14-2010, 04:49 PM
No, it has crappy integrated Intel graphics. Way underpowered to play STO, but enough just to test.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 35
01-14-2010, 05:53 PM
I'm getting the same thing. Only no loading screen. Only Crytic's logo and then boom, error.

I'm about to give up on this game, I've redownloaded it 4 times and I'm not about to start again. STO's Downloader is broken.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 36
01-14-2010, 09:01 PM
^^Bump^

I just got this PC yesterday. It is running Win 7 - Home Premium and I am experiencing the same issue. My windows XP gets into the game fine.

I have started deleting the .hogg files and repatching, but has that been the fix? Is there a full-proof method?

Thanks
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 37
01-15-2010, 04:57 AM
I have been replacing the .Hogg files one at a time and the game has been getting through the load screen better, but I'm not through yet. Apparently you have to replace them all no matter what.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 38
01-15-2010, 06:15 AM
I have a Dell XPS 1530 with an Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T7500 @ 2.20GHz 3.00 GB of RAM and an NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT running with Vista Home Premium. I updated the GeForce drivers before running the game. I have reinstalled the game twice, and it goes as far as to give me the "Engage" button at the launcher and then crashes and gives me the Cryptic crash program. I have no clue why.

My older Alienware running on XP runs the game fine.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 39
01-15-2010, 06:28 AM
My latest Cryptic Crash Report number is 6863276. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 40
01-15-2010, 06:40 AM
New one: 6863276

Last time I'll try in this computer...
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.