Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 21
01-13-2010, 09:58 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by cipher_nemo View Post
Ah, then you're not running at true max settings, you're just running at the pre-built config called max or whatever.

And are we talking STO or EVE? I'm talking about STO, not EVE. EVE requires much less.

If you choose advanced settings, then look at your anti-aliasing, I bet it's not maxed. And I bet a lot of other settings are not maxed on the max pre-set.
I will have to give it a go once I get off work. As I said I glanced over the advanced settings, which is how I changed the view distance, and everything seemed topped out. I bet I missed AA because it is a pull down with options rather than a slide bar like just about everything else.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 22
01-13-2010, 10:02 AM
I just want to know how is supporting 3 monitors a bug issue?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 23
01-13-2010, 10:06 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedRaiders
I will have to give it a go once I get off work. As I said I glanced over the advanced settings, which is how I changed the view distance, and everything seemed topped out. I bet I missed AA because it is a pull down with options rather than a slide bar like just about everything else.
In all honesty, a 5800 series card will run STO just fine on the triple monitor config (even at 5040x1050), but at near high settings to still get an average of 50-60 FPS.

To truly get near-max settings, though not completely maxed, one would need a 5970 (ATI's dual GPU 5000 series card) to get smooth gameplay. I can get smooth gameplay on my GTX 295 (NVIDIA's dual GPU 200 series card), but it's at high-settings (no AA, but high everything else except lighting). I get over 60 FPS idle (I have it v-synced to monitor refresh rate), and the FPS may dip down to 50-something in graphically demanding areas.

To truly get max settings with max AA and everything at the triple monitor resolutions, one would need at least dual SLI or Crossfire of the top-end cards like the GTX 295, 5970, or 5870, if not triple cards.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 24
01-13-2010, 10:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampyrehntrd View Post
I just want to know how is supporting 3 monitors a bug issue?
It's not "supporting 3 monitors". It's supporting wide gaming resolutions like 5040x1050 or 3840x1024. It's not a "monitor" issue, it's a gaming resolution issue. Those who've never done multiple monitor gaming with devices like Matrox or using ATI's Eyefinity software won't ever understand at first.

To explain it in terms a regular user would understand...

With the right hardware or software, Windows sees the three monitors as one big display. Games, no matter what they support, see it as one big display. It's not "multiple monitors" to games. It's just large gaming resolution to games.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 25
01-13-2010, 10:17 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by cipher_nemo View Post
It's not "supporting 3 monitors". It's supporting wide gaming resolutions like 5040x1050 or 3840x1024. It's not a "monitor" issue, it's a gaming resolution issue. Those who've never done multiple monitor gaming with devices like Matrox or using ATI's Eyefinity software won't ever understand at first.

To explain it in terms a regular user would understand...

With the right hardware or software, Windows sees the three monitors as one big display. Games, no matter what they support, see it as one big display. It's not "multiple monitors" to games. It's just large gaming resolution to games.
No its running a wider view of the game. I understand all this. but the only set ups i have seen support this kind of gaming is WoW or simulators for flying.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 26
01-13-2010, 10:22 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by cipher_nemo View Post
In all honesty, a 5800 series card will run STO just fine on the triple monitor config (even at 5040x1050), but at near high settings to still get an average of 50-60 FPS.

To truly get near-max settings, though not completely maxed, one would need a 5970 (ATI's dual GPU 5000 series card) to get smooth gameplay. I can get smooth gameplay on my GTX 295 (NVIDIA's dual GPU 200 series card), but it's at high-settings (no AA, but high everything else except lighting). I get over 60 FPS idle (I have it v-synced to monitor refresh rate), and the FPS may dip down to 50-something in graphically demanding areas.

To truly get max settings with max AA and everything at the triple monitor resolutions, one would need at least dual SLI or Crossfire of the top-end cards like the GTX 295, 5970, or 5870, if not triple cards.
Yeah but if he is asking for permission from the misses than price is probably the real issue. A 5870 costs almost twice that of a 5770.

Trying to help a brother out!!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 27
01-13-2010, 10:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampyrehntrd View Post
No its running a wider view of the game. I understand all this. but the only set ups i have seen support this kind of gaming is WoW or simulators for flying.
It's actually supported or possible in over 500 games. Most people just don't know it.

Check out the list at this link. You will probably be surprised at some of the titles it works on.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 28
01-13-2010, 10:29 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampyrehntrd View Post
No its running a wider view of the game. I understand all this. but the only set ups i have seen support this kind of gaming is WoW or simulators for flying.

Multiple monitor gaming is finally starting to go mainstream with Eyefinity and its time for folks to start complaining when a game of this nature is not designed with this in mind. It isn't like we're asking them to use each monitor seperately (like Supreme Commander), just to allow the graphics to scale properly in very wide resolutions.

The UI issues will hopefully be moot when/if UI mods start hitting the scene, but the limited FOV (chubby people) is surprising on a new game! They should be able to add a variable aspect ratio control (slider instead of drop down).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 29
01-13-2010, 10:51 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampyrehntrd View Post
No its running a wider view of the game. I understand all this. but the only set ups i have seen support this kind of gaming is WoW or simulators for flying.
As others have mentioned, ultra-wide screen gaming resolutions are becoming mainstream now with Eyefinity that is already included for ATI 5000 cards. It will probably be included with NVIDIA cards in the future too so that they can remain competitive.

As for resolutions, there's are tons out there that are common (around 30). Here's an example. Some of these are defined standards and some are not. For example, 1440x900 is a resolution you see on many laptops, but it's not a standard. Even from those list of resolutions, there are many where STO would look bad due to the aspect ratio (17:9 would be stretched too).

So it's not about multiple monitors, it's about being flexible for any gaming resolution. After all, LCD manufacturers could introduce a new resolution tomorrow for even larger monitors. They already have 2560x1600.

And guess what, when you run a game in windowed resolution, you can set it to any resolution you like and the game is supposed to scale and handle its graphics accordingly (within reason of course). After all, the STO client automatically detects a user's aspect ratio. They just don't apply it properly to game elements.

So if all you want to do is argue about something you don't use or have experience with, please do so in a thread other than those in bugs.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:31 PM.