Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 31
01-13-2010, 01:00 PM
I don't get it. Can someone sum up whats going on here?
I copy all .hogg from an friend of mine over, and instead of patching them, the launcher deletes them and wants to get all 10GB from the start?
I keep getting like 6000 Errors like: MasterControlProgram[1]: Corrupt file missing name or header_data
Which is weired since the same files work perfectly at my friends pc.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 32
01-17-2010, 08:20 PM
/resurrect

I was playing earlier today and now I too am facing a 10 gig patch with no discernable reason for it. Has there been a clear response on how to address this issue?

Just to clarify; I logged off, made lunch, worked on my renovations for the afternoon, had a quiet evening with the wife and kid and tried to log back in about 9:00 and I somehow now require a 10 gig patch. I knew I shouldn't have worked on those renos today.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 33
01-18-2010, 09:58 AM
I had the same problem, huge patch. WORKS FINE NOW.
I uninstalled the game again
Rebooted
Installed directly from the executable (exe) in the rar files, do not extract it first.
run the install, start the game and the patch should be les than 200 Mb.
file name = Star_Trek_OB_SFX_ST.0.20100108a.0.rar
source = Atari
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 34
01-18-2010, 04:30 PM
Well I'm glad this is getting resolved for you Windows 7 folks.

Finally got my Beta key from GameStop, and first time I fire up the launcher, I get the 10GB patch as well. Already downloaded the client.
If it matters to you, I'm on Windows XP, 64-bit.

So...do I just let it go and hope for the best?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 35
01-18-2010, 05:07 PM
10 GB patch download completed and game seems to run same as before. I'm guessing just something glitchy with the patcher.

Okay, so I lied. Game client crashed, submitted a crash report. Upon restart it verified a whole whack of files and then when I pressed "engage" it sited can not find file specified. Now it is patching 10 GB again...

Guess I'll redownload the client and uninstall/reinstall and go from there.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 36
01-18-2010, 10:15 PM
I got the same 10gb patch problem.

I bought the game (preorder of course) downloaded the game and went to install
when install was complete it began patching at 10 gigs I was a little Irate to say the least,
upon inspection of the install folder it appears the installer had deleted the .pigg files simply
find the .rar files you downloaded, double click appropriate (2nd to last for me) .rar file
and run setup like that it worked for me now the patch is a bit more manageable 191mb
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 37 Possible solution?
01-19-2010, 05:57 PM
I had the same 10 GB patch problem. It seems, the installation process removes files from the folder (that contains the downloaded STO), so the files for a re-installation are missing and have to be downloaded again. In my case, the folder contained only 118 MB after an installation.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 38
01-30-2010, 11:06 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
You cannot install the game more than once with the Zip-based installers, they are one-shot.
Well, It shouldn't be a 1 shot i paid for the game so i should be able to install 50 times in a row if i feel like it.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 AM.