Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I am running Windows 7 64bit - quad core processor with 2 ATI 3870 video cards in a crossfire configuration. Immeadiately when entering the game the temp of my second card shot to 94 degrees celcius and nearly melted my computer. I then updated video card drivers and tried again same thing. I disabled crossfire in the Catalyst Control Center and am able to play without destroying my computer. Hope this helps others.

-Pictard Out
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-12-2010, 07:33 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10beers
I am running Windows 7 64bit - quad core processor with 2 ATI 3870 video cards in a crossfire configuration. Immeadiately when entering the game the temp of my second card shot to 94 degrees celcius and nearly melted my computer. I then updated video card drivers and tried again same thing. I disabled crossfire in the Catalyst Control Center and am able to play without destroying my computer. Hope this helps others.

-Pictard Out
3870s???

time for an upgrade
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-12-2010, 07:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilosoldier
3870s???

time for an upgrade
Not for this game. The graphics in this game don't even push my 5870 to 10% GPU use, a 3870 is a bit more then 10% of a 5870.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-12-2010, 07:50 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_moshpit View Post
Not for this game. The graphics in this game don't even push my 5870 to 10% GPU use, a 3870 is a bit more then 10% of a 5870.
Still time for an upgrade. its a 3rd generation card any which way you slice it
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-12-2010, 07:51 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_moshpit View Post
Not for this game. The graphics in this game don't even push my 5870 to 10% GPU use, a 3870 is a bit more then 10% of a 5870.
Thats not how it works. At least research a little bit? 3870's are old and bad. Running them for this game is goign to make the temps and internal gpu power skyrocket. The architecture

on the 5870 is designed to handle heavy loads, the 3870 isnt.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-12-2010, 08:03 PM
Not that everyone has money to upgrade... especially in these lean times... My system was state of the art when I built it, which was the month of the launch of the 3870... I'd planned to upgrade it last year... then I lost my job... So that's not going to happen anytime soon.

However... my system runs this game just fine, no issues, high detail textures. Giving advice that is just 'run out and get a new video card' is frankly silly for something that should be running this game fine. Btw I never run overdrive... It wears out your cards.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-12-2010, 09:16 PM
1 card is running this game fine the fact that crossfire isn't working has nothing to do with how old my cards are more to do with horrible coding. Was just throwing this post out to help others not for advice from trolls ... kilo why don't you play the game instead of trolling the forums?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:07 PM.