Commander
# 1 The Mirror of Truth
03-14-2013, 09:12 PM
My name's Xean, many of you heard of me, none of you know me. But I am real.

Today, at 5:28:35PM eastern time, I was silenced in game. Why?

For the past week, I have been working very hard to establish a fleet for longterm active players like myself (see forum thread: http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...d.php?t=575291). This search has led me once again to explore dark recesses of human nature. Let me enlighten the situation.

Aside from being a veteran gamer, I'm an independant scientific researcher and writer. My specialty: Human behavior. I find MMO's a great place to observe behavior, because people tend to behave according to their nature. Believing nobody knows who they really are, they feel free to be themselves, with amazing results. And I'm not talking about RP, yet.

I like RP. For the sake of this post, let's pretend I am a mirror. A mirror where you look at yourself and have no choice but to see the truth. Of course, no such mirror exists, but if it did... What would the mirror see? If the mirror could speak about the events of this past week, it would say thus:

"I am The Mirror of Truth and I see you. Not as you want the world to see you, but as you really are. I see the man who strives in goodwill to found a team from the start with passionate players as himself and is set upon. Ridiculed by one who sees him as an idiot wasting his time, applauded by another who believes "he has balls" to do what he's after because he understands the incredible obstacles that must be surmounted. I see him approached by fleet leaders who want to convince him a few months of servitude to them will accrue grand rewards and threatened by a troller who vows to warn every player the man speaks with, that he's "fleet thief", and proceeds to do so, because the troller is himself a man of ill will and repute.