Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 19
# 1
03-01-2014, 01:24 PM
OK, I take it back again. game is down, or I'm broken, whatever. I cant get past this:

There was an error loading the login page. Please restart the launcher and try again.

Error -118 when loading url /launcher_login

Every single time I run the launcher, either directly (right click on Star Trek Online.exe and run as administrator) or if I launch via ARC.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

*** SOLVED ***

Please see post #14 in this thread for the solution I have found:

http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...1&postcount=14

Last edited by borgmonkey2; 03-01-2014 at 08:29 PM. Reason: found an answer!
Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,406
# 2
03-01-2014, 01:26 PM
STO is up and running
Live long and Prosper
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 19
# 3
03-01-2014, 01:28 PM
Good to know its just me being crazy at least. Not sure what to try next, any ideas?
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
# 4
03-01-2014, 01:40 PM
Game is down for me. Will let me log on and choose a character but try and go anywhere and it kicks me out.
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 19
# 5
03-01-2014, 02:44 PM
I've updated the launcher, cleared caches, tracert'd to 208.95.186.32, and still receiving:

There was an error loading the login page. Please restart the launcher and try again.

Error -118 when loading url /launcher_login
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 139
# 6
03-01-2014, 03:14 PM
I had a similar problem to this last night I managed to fix it by starting the launcher and leaving it at the error screen then I used crtl+alt+del and went into the task manager found the process and right clicked to end the process tree.

Tried it again and it worked without a hitch
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 19
# 7
03-01-2014, 03:28 PM
Thanks artemis, I've never tried that before, but unfortunately it did not help in my case. I am still receiving error -118 no matter what I try.

I found these two threads on the forums about other instances of this type of error:

http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...d.php?t=944071
http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...d.php?t=971161

Both seem to be about Cogent, Comcast, Time Warner etc issues forwarding traffic somewhere in between users and Cryptic, but I think my tracert does not show signs of that? (hopefully I removed only the right parts and not the important ones)

>tracert 208.95.186.32

Tracing route to 208.95.186.32 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dslrouter.westell.com [192.168.1.1]
2 26 ms 25 ms 25 ms xxxxxx
3 88 ms 24 ms 25 ms xxxxxx
4 27 ms 26 ms 39 ms xxxxxx
5 27 ms 27 ms 27 ms xxxxxx
6 26 ms 28 ms 26 ms 206.111.7.149.ptr.us.xo.net [206.111.7.149]
7 114 ms 107 ms 108 ms vb2000d1.rar3.seattle-wa.us.xo.net [207.88.13.142]
8 111 ms 116 ms 144 ms te-4-0-0.rar3.denver-co.us.xo.net [207.88.12.82]
9 110 ms 107 ms 108 ms te-4-1-0.rar3.chicago-il.us.xo.net [207.88.12.21]
10 107 ms 105 ms 107 ms ae0d0.mcr2.cambridge-ma.us.xo.net [216.156.0.30]
11 106 ms 106 ms 107 ms 209.117.103.10
12 106 ms 105 ms 106 ms border11.te8-1-bbnet2.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.104]
13 118 ms 112 ms 119 ms perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.61.78]
14 111 ms 111 ms 111 ms 208.95.186.32

Trace complete.

Last edited by borgmonkey2; 03-01-2014 at 03:28 PM. Reason: spelling
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,473
# 8
03-01-2014, 04:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by borgmonkey2 View Post
Thanks artemis, I've never tried that before, but unfortunately it did not help in my case. I am still receiving error -118 no matter what I try.
.......
So have you tried using the proxy options in the Launcher?
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 19
# 9
03-01-2014, 04:10 PM
I've never configured that before, and I am not sure if I can turn it on at this point. All I do is double click the launcher (or right click,, run as admin) and then it comes up with the black window the size and shape of the launcher and says "Loading. Please wait." for approx. 30 seconds, and then goes directly to the:

There was an error loading the login page. Please restart the launcher and try again.

Error -118 when loading url /launcher_login

Message, and there are no buttons or options I can click at that point to try to set a proxy.
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 19
# 10
03-01-2014, 04:15 PM
Also, I seem to be able to login to my account via ARC, or the website since I can post fine here, but if I try launching "GameClient.exe" directly and logging in that way, all I get is "Connecting to the account Server...." for a minute or so and then it times out.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 AM.