Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Game Won't load
01-13-2010, 11:43 AM
Everytime I click the Game Launcher from the Desktop or Start Menu Programs.. I just get a crash and nothing else.

Reboots, updates, etc. I've done them all.

Game simply won't load.

OS: XP x64 Pro
RAM: 4GB
GFX: Asus 8800GTX
CPU: AMD x2 4200+ (don't start CPU wars cause this cpu has left many quads behind).
HD: 5+ TB.

Ideas welcome!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-13-2010, 12:00 PM
Update on this.. set compatibility as Windows XP.. no crash.. but game still doesn't load. Just an idle process using ~30mb of RAM and 40-50% CPU.

error.log in home directory says:
100113 19:34:33 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 80010106
100113 19:34:33 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 80010106"
100113 19:35:00 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 80010106
100113 19:35:00 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 80010106"
100113 19:35:54 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 80010106
100113 19:35:54 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 80010106"
100113 19:52:08 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 80010106
100113 19:52:08 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 80010106"
100113 19:53:41 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 80010106
100113 19:53:41 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 80010106"

Whatever this is.. it seems it needs a fix. ^^
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-13-2010, 12:02 PM
Please post the error ID number.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-13-2010, 12:05 PM
Ahh, OLE failures. These come from another program on your system hooking into our application startup and disrupting it (initializing OLE/COM before we do and doing it wrong). A known offender is the Nvidia Application Firewall (comes with the chipset drivers, not the GFX stuffs), but it could be almost anything. You need to find and disable/uninstall the offending program >_<
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-13-2010, 12:05 PM
I would say that the error ID is before the timestamp.. no?

If so: 100113

This is the complete output from errors.log.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-13-2010, 12:09 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
Ahh, OLE failures. These come from another program on your system hooking into our application startup and disrupting it (initializing OLE/COM before we do and doing it wrong). A known offender is the Nvidia Application Firewall (comes with the chipset drivers, not the GFX stuffs), but it could be almost anything. You need to find and disable/uninstall the offending program >_<
Ok.. MSconfig time.. BRB.

I will leave active:
APC monitor
Razer HID
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-13-2010, 12:27 PM
Ok.. no luck.

I have nothing else to disable.. except APC and Razer Softwares.

Not crashing.. but not loading as well.

100113 20:12:17 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 80010106
100113 20:12:17 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 80010106"

These were the last errors.

Current timestamp is: 20:25:xx

EDIT: Well.. I'll give a try tomorrow.. now I think I'm going back to bofhing with sendmail...
EDIT #2:
Saw this in another post:
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
Try minimizing and maximizing the program via Task Manager, this usually force the window to be visible. OOC, do you have more than one monitor?
I do.. but I have nothing on the system taskbar. Therefore.. it's like STO is in background mode.. and not in a way I can interact with.. except through task manager...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-13-2010, 02:43 PM
Same issue here, same OLE error. The ID is 4544685.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-17-2010, 07:59 AM
Same problem here. Only nVidia software running is graphics related. Error Ticket ID 4548575

Different error number listed by OLE though
100117 15:57:33 1 MasterControlProgram[1]: OLE failed to initialize: 1
100117 15:57:33 2 MasterControlProgram[1]: Shutting down from fatal error "OLE failed to initialize: 1"
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-17-2010, 08:25 AM
I install game and then Launcher it after its done. Launcher does a patch. and then gives me a engage button. I hit it. Screen goes Black for about 1 to 2 seconds then drops to a window with black in it and nothing eles. so i go to task manager and it says ( Not Responding ). so i click on game at bottom and it givea a Cmd screen and a Error ( Unable to find required game data files . if this problem persist reinstalling app may fix it.

CmD screen shows

Perloading DDLs..Done (0.01)
Filesystem Startup...gamedatadirs:
m.

And that as far as i can get. so here whats im running to help fig this out
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 AM.