Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,600
1. The icons for almost all abilities and items are missing. See screenshots below:

http://i.imgur.com/8w1lS2o.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/7i4rWpb.jpg

2. The windows are transparent, causing the text and buttons of different windows to overlap. This makes things hard to read and distinguish. See screenshots below:

http://i.imgur.com/lbvV2uR.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/ltKHPlt.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/hrokc1S.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/o6EHp6i.jpg

I pulled all of settings that I thought might be relevant out of the file below. Most of this information is probably useless, but I hope it helps the devs debug.

C:\Users\Public\Games\Cryptic Studios\Star Trek Online\Playtest\Localdata\Gameprefs.Pref

PrefEntry GfxSettings.Antialiasing 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.AspectRatio 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.AutoEnableFrameRateStabilizer 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.BloomIntensity 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.BloomQuality 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.CharacterDetailLevel 0.5
PrefEntry GfxSettings.CharacterTexLODLevel 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.DefaultFov 55
PrefEntry GfxSettings.DesiredMatQuality 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.DeviceType Direct3D9
PrefEntry GfxSettings.DisableSplatShadows 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.DrawHighDetail 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.DrawHighFillDetail 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.DynamicLights 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.FrameRateStabilizer2 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.Fullscreen 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.FxQuality 2
PrefEntry GfxSettings.Gamma 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.GfxFeaturesDesired 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.GPUAccelParticles 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.GraphicsQuality 0.667
PrefEntry GfxSettings.HigherSettingsInTailor 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.HighQualityDOF2 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.HWInstancing 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.LastRecordedMSAAPerf 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.LastRecordedPerf 448.411
PrefEntry GfxSettings.LenseFlare 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.LightingQuality 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxDebris 100
PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxFPS 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.Maximized 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxInactiveFPS 5
PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxLightsPerObject 2
PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxReflection 2
PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxShadowedLights 3
PrefEntry GfxSettings.MinDepthBiasFix 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.MonitorIndex 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.PerFrameSleep 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.PoissonShadows 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.PreloadMaterials 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.RecommendedClusterSetting 2
PrefEntry GfxSettings.RecommendedMatQuality 3
PrefEntry GfxSettings.ReduceFileStreaming 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.RefreshRate 60
PrefEntry GfxSettings.RenderScaleX 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.RenderScaleY 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.RenderThread 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.ScreenHeight 800
PrefEntry GfxSettings.ScreenWidth 1280
PrefEntry GfxSettings.ScreenXPos 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.ScreenYPos 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.SettingsDefaultsVersion 2
PrefEntry GfxSettings.SettingsVersion 5
PrefEntry GfxSettings.ShowAdvanced 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.SoftParticles 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.SoftwareCursor2 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.SSAO 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.TerrainDetailLevel 0.8
PrefEntry GfxSettings.TexAnisotropy 4
PrefEntry GfxSettings.UseFullSkinning 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.UseVSync2 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.VideoCardDeviceID 10754
PrefEntry GfxSettings.VideoCardVendorID 32902
PrefEntry GfxSettings.VideoMemoryMaxHMBs 0
PrefEntry GfxSettings.WorldDetailLevel 0.25
PrefEntry GfxSettings.WorldLoadScale 1
PrefEntry GfxSettings.WorldTexLODLevel 1
PrefEntry HasSetGamma 1

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.cpuCacheSize 2162688
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.cpuIdentifier "x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13, GenuineIntel"
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.CPUSpeed 1.995e+009
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isDx11Enabled 1
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isVista 1
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.isX64 0

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.numMonitors 1
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.numRealCPUs 2
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.numVirtualCPUs 2
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.nvidiaSLIGPUCount 0
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.OSVER0_LowVersion 0
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.OSVER1_HighVersion 6
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.OSVER2_Build 6002
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.OSVER3_ServicePackMajor 2
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.OSVER4_ServicePackMinor 0
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.OSVER5_HostVersion 6.0.6001.18000
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.physicalMemoryAvailable 2654187520
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.physicalMemoryMax 374668902
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.RAMSpeedGBs 0.756468

PrefEntry SystemSpecs.VideoCardDeviceID 10754
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.videoCardName "Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family"
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.VideoCardVendorID 32902
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.videoDriverState 0
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.videoDriverVersion 7.15.10.1666
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.videoMemory 512
PrefEntry SystemSpecs.virtualAddressSpace 2147418134

Last edited by frtoaster; 03-30-2013 at 10:23 PM.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 377
# 2
03-28-2013, 11:48 PM
didn't have this issue but will keep a lookout for this to happen.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,069
# 3
03-28-2013, 11:54 PM
ground http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/1891/groundl.jpg

space http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/406/spacejh.jp

there is a small aero effect but not that visible.

Last edited by adrianm63; 03-29-2013 at 12:12 AM.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,600
# 4
03-29-2013, 01:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianm63 View Post
ground http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/1891/groundl.jpg

space http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/406/spacejh.jp

there is a small aero effect but not that visible.
I'm glad it works for you. The new UI seems to look good for most people. But it is seriously broken for a few of us. I hope the devs are able to fix this before it goes live.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 262
# 5
03-29-2013, 04:12 AM
i really like the old one more and want to keep it for me

the new dont feels like Star Trek it looks to me like ****ing World of War****
Level 50 Cpts: W-T-Riker; Jadzia; Sharan; K'Dhan; T-W-Riker; T'Pok; Ehrehin; Shanara; Karana; Lukara
Subscribed For: 1200 Days 23-08-2013
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 60
# 6
03-29-2013, 07:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ussberlin View Post
i really like the old one more and want to keep it for me

the new dont feels like Star Trek it looks to me like ****ing World of War****
But the old one isn't like a Okuda LCARS. This new colors and plain colored / black surfaces hits more the canon LCARS style how it is known from the TV series or movies. Think the new one is the better one. But to each his own taste.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 262
# 7
03-29-2013, 07:17 AM
the new one has to mutch eye candy and dont follows the function

new 1. candy
old 1. function

new has to mutch different colors and stand more infront then the real importent in the middle of the screen


sorry to mutch missing words in German i could say it mutch better what i am thinging

your so called LCARS maybe works on TV but not when you sit in front of it and have to press the right buttons at the right time
Level 50 Cpts: W-T-Riker; Jadzia; Sharan; K'Dhan; T-W-Riker; T'Pok; Ehrehin; Shanara; Karana; Lukara
Subscribed For: 1200 Days 23-08-2013

Last edited by ussberlin; 03-29-2013 at 07:20 AM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,499
# 8
03-29-2013, 09:22 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ussberlin View Post
the new one has to mutch eye candy and dont follows the function

new 1. candy
old 1. function

nonsense... both versions have the exact same functionality (once the few bugs are fixed anyway)
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,069
# 9
03-29-2013, 09:39 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ussberlin View Post
the new one has to mutch eye candy and dont follows the function

new 1. candy
old 1. function

new has to mutch different colors and stand more infront then the real importent in the middle of the screen


sorry to mutch missing words in German i could say it mutch better what i am thinging

your so called LCARS maybe works on TV but not when you sit in front of it and have to press the right buttons at the right time
its the same UI with a different skin.Is not more different than the kdf red UI we have now on holodeck so it has the same function because its the same UI
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 147
# 10
03-29-2013, 10:11 AM
im having the exact same problem. icons r missing and that windows r too transparent to even tell wat im doing half the time. please fix it...please this would b a game ender for me if its not fixed. i cant see wat im doing so how am i supposed to play
*Me*Why don't you just step away from the weapons console. You and I both know that you couldn't hit that cube, even if it was right in front of us.
*Junior Tactical Officer* But sir the cube IS right in front of us.
*Me* EXACTLY! Its right in front of us and you still missed it! Just step away from the console.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 AM.