Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 37
# 11
03-29-2013, 10:31 AM
Same issue for me.

I know my computer isn't the best, but it has quite happily run the game so far. Now it seems the most graphically demanding part of the game is going to be the UI.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 755
# 12
03-29-2013, 03:46 PM
OP I'm having the exact same issues.

I hadn't thought about it being issue of the graphics not being pushed high enough.

Quote:
Originally Posted by abrahamjohnson83 View Post
But the old one isn't like a Okuda LCARS. This new colors and plain colored / black surfaces hits more the canon LCARS style how it is known from the TV series or movies. Think the new one is the better one. But to each his own taste.
Agreed. I'm gonna love the new one once the transparency issues are fixed. Are we supposed to have the option for both?
Yes I support This

"Rise like Lions after slumber, In unvanquishable number, Shake your chains to earth like dew, Which in sleep had fallen on you-Ye are many they are few"
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 829
# 13
03-29-2013, 03:59 PM
Have we gotten anything from the devs on possible causes or fixes for this. it is rather frustrating and will effect if I can or can not test future builds. Which will be disappointing as I can't wait for the new KDF and RR content.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 43
# 14
03-29-2013, 09:19 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by frtoaster View Post
1. The icons for almost all abilities and items are missing. See screenshots below:

http://i.imgur.com/8w1lS2o.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/7i4rWpb.jpg

2. The windows are transparent, causing the text and buttons of different windows to overlap. This makes things hard to read and distinguish. See screenshots below:

http://i.imgur.com/lbvV2uR.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/ltKHPlt.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/hrokc1S.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/o6EHp6i.jpg

Is there an easy way to dump the graphics settings (including the video card) for debugging purposes?
OP: I'm having an identical issue. Icons are missing in all the same places, windows are completely transparent except for a bit of highlighting on the left side, and no Aero effect is visible.

However, it occurs to me that this phenomenon of "glass that is supposed to be mostly transparent but is instead invisible" has occurred for me before: There are a couple of glass items in the fleet starbase (conference table, some low walls, etc.) that are completely invisible to me regardless of what video settings I use.


Obviously, the reason for this is that my computer is old and clunky (Toshiba Satellite A215, a non-gaming laptop from 2008), but it has never had any issues running the old UI and it performs well enough to make the game completely playable with tolerable framerates, even in PvP.


Devs, this is a very serious issue that must be addressed!


If the game goes from "fine despite a few graphics quirks" to "unusable, unreadable UI" for anyone using a lower-end system, that will be a huge disappointment and you will lose a substantial number of players, many of whom are very, very good customers. For example, I have been the #1 STO player on Raptr since the beginning, I've been a paying gold member for most of the time since joining the game, and I've made plenty of out-of-pocket Zen purchases in that time -- not exactly the kind of player you want to lose.


Please, devs, look into how the UI and other elements look if your graphics card doesn't support more advanced options. Try running the game on older systems, things that just barely meet the system requirements.

Just to give you an idea, here are video options my graphics card apparently doesn't support:

1) Shadows: nothing above "Low"
2) Max lights per object: frozen at 2 (no higher or lower)
3) Max shadowed lights: not available
4) Postprocessing: not available
5) Soft particles: not available
6) Bloom quality/Bloom intensity: not available
7) Screen-space ambient occlusion: not available
8) Cinematic focus: not available
9) Reflection quality: nothing above Low
10) Lens flare quality: nothing above Low
11) GPU-accelerated particles: not available

Despite all this, the game runs fine at 1280x800, full resolution, high visual fx quality w/ dynamic lighting, high-quality lighting, full detail textures, and detail distances of 100% most of the time. On a very crowded combat map, however, I do usually drop resolution to 50% (/renderscale 0.5) and reduce lighting quality to low in order to keep the framerate up. Still, the game is very playable despite these limitations.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,232
# 15
03-30-2013, 10:27 PM
I have updated my original post with information from the file

C:\Users\Public\Games\Cryptic Studios\Star Trek Online\Playtest\Localdata\Gameprefs.Pref

Other people having the same problem are welcome to post their settings. I have no idea if this will help the devs debug, however.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,232
# 16
04-02-2013, 12:38 AM
Ignore this. I posted to the wrong thread.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 37
# 17
04-02-2013, 05:48 PM
Latest patch seems to have fixed this for me (phew). I hope you all are as fortunate.
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10,699
# 18
04-03-2013, 09:27 AM
yeha same here, the UI looks AWESOME now!
HAIL HYDRA!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
I can haz joystick!
MMOs aren't charities. Corporations are supposed to make a profit. It's what they do.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,232
# 19
04-03-2013, 06:09 PM
I can also confirm that this is now working for me in the latest patch.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 PM.