Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 21
01-20-2010, 09:22 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
If you enable the US proxy, you should be able to get away with 7000-7009+7220-7229+7255+7399, but I can't promise that will always be the case. Our "public port range" is indeed 7000-7500, with things like game servers getting randomly allocated ports in that range (which is needed since we run many hundreds or more per physical machine).
Ok, so using the US proxy settings (I assume it does not make a difference if I live in the UK?) I should request the following ports to be opened;

7000-7009+7220-7229+7255+7399

Is this TCP AND UDP? I need this information if I am going to request them to be opened here.

Cheers for the help so far.

#Edit#

Just got a responce back from tech support at cryptic. Here is a responce.

"The ports that STO uses are TCP: 80, 443, 7003, 7202, 7255 and 7499 You can use this tool to check to see if you are getting network communication on those ports or we have a proxy option that may help you connect. Run the nettest tool a.) Download the tool by clicking this link and save it to your desktop http://files.champions-online.com/nettest.exe b.) Double click the file and let the program run c.) If any of the numbers in the third column come back as 0 KB/sec then the port listed in the second column are being blocked. Check your network monitoring software again to make sure they have an exception for our game. Try the Cryptic Proxy: a.) Start the Champions Online client b.) Enter your username and password c.) Let the game patch if needed d.) Click on the Options button at the top of the launcher screen and change the Proxy drop down to EU or US e.) Click Play! Sincerely, Cryptic Studios Technical Support"

Hope this helps someone.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 22 Ports? ingame conncetion?
01-23-2010, 07:16 AM
Hey all ive been having problems with connecting and well keeping that conncetion while playing the game, since install its never run well and is always laggy, with the warning about Concetion to Sever Problem aross my screen while in game all the time, ive run the program which STO said to check the ports on and the only port that seems to be working or gettin any info is the 80 which is only 1kbs, and the 7255, 7003 ports are timing out anyone help me in how i can get this game to work??
Ensign
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
# 23
05-09-2013, 01:50 PM
I've opened the ports that are mentioned in the previous messages:
80, 443, 7003, 7202, 7255 and 7499 (TCP)

But, the following ports are also needed (to be able to login at the STO Launcer):
7004, 7399 (TCP).

I'am now able to run the STO launcher .....
Patching is in progress.

I really was ready to ditch this game until I found this post.

Also after patching the game does not start.
It needs another port opened:
port 3478 (TCP)

and a couple of other ports (TCP):
7001
7333
7224
7333
7408
7402
7404
7414
7406
7407
7404
7414
7410
7412
7409
7411
7403
7413
7415

A lot of my free time (2 days) has being dedicated to getting this game to work (from the launcher-problems, patching problem, login/time-out=opening ports in the firewall).

It works after setting the whole range of 7000-7500.

Last edited by qf00001; 05-10-2013 at 10:05 AM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:08 AM.