Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
01-14-2010, 02:50 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by f9thFadedSpark View Post
This saves cryptic the trouble of dealing with people who don't pay attention to the warnings of AA being broken.
What is the point of a Beta if not to gather more information about an issue? That is, unless they don't really have any intention of fixing the problem and/or know it can't be fixed.

I want to be a Beta Tester... its shocking, I know.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
01-14-2010, 02:56 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagger-Rift
ADVANCED USER WARNING

Someone with an NVidia graphics card with AA maxed, post the content of their \star trek online\Star Trek Online\Live\localdata\gameprefs.prefs file while the game is running.

You'll have to launch STO (even just at the character login screen), then alt+tab out. The contents of the .prefs file changes after you launch the game.

You should be able to alter the advanced settings and flag the file as read only to sneak past the AA check. There are also some settings in here you cant tweak IG if you're interested in really fine-tuning your graphics & settings.

Some intrepid modders might as well start tweaking here and posting their bug reports / findings as well. I'm sure Tweak-Guides will have a comprehensive walkthrough on getting the best performance out of STO, and what some of these settings mean a month or so after launch anyway.
Good stuff, I will check it out!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
01-14-2010, 05:58 PM
They definitely need to fix this crap as soon as possible. Even at 1920x1080 ress, I'm still seeing jagged edges on everything. It's very irritating when you're running a badass 23" HD Samsung with two HD 4890 Radeons, and 6 gigs of DDR3 Triple Channel, rounded off with a Core i7 Proc. No other ground-breaking visually intense games I've played on this system have given me problems with FSAA enabled on 8x or 16x with 32x sampling, so if this one is, now's the time to fix it.

No one wants to play a game that looks like crap when their system can handle superior-looking games.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
01-16-2010, 05:51 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anonelbe
They definitely need to fix this crap as soon as possible. Even at 1920x1080 ress, I'm still seeing jagged edges on everything. It's very irritating when you're running a badass 23" HD Samsung with two HD 4890 Radeons, and 6 gigs of DDR3 Triple Channel, rounded off with a Core i7 Proc. No other ground-breaking visually intense games I've played on this system have given me problems with FSAA enabled on 8x or 16x with 32x sampling, so if this one is, now's the time to fix it.

No one wants to play a game that looks like crap when their system can handle superior-looking games.
I have to agree, there is a need for cryptic to support AA on AMD cards. Based on the tool tip, I thought initially that this game was a NVIDIA supported game, and did not support AA for that reason.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
01-16-2010, 06:07 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by carterhawk View Post
I feel I should point out that AA in CoH has been broken for years. Don't get your hopes up about this particular bug being fixed, I think its a problem with the most basic code in their generic game engine.
Entirely different engine, entirely different company (the current Cryptic is NOTHING like the guys behind CoX), and entirely different developers/coders.

As was stated - it was fully disabled due to it causing serious bugs (like crashing, rebooting, and major visual artifacts). It was disabled at the same time in CO as well (due to it sharing game engines). In theory, it'll be back soon.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 AM.