Lieutenant
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 46
# 1 exspanded universe
05-16-2013, 04:16 PM
i know it take a lot but i think it be awsome if they make no load zones make all worlds in open space and put space encounters in open space
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 587
# 2
05-16-2013, 07:10 PM
Good in theory, but hell if it will ever come into existence in this century. There is too much to render at a time, the netcode requires tons of work to support the buttons, and don't forget the space.

And don't forget that Transwarp is an immediate change from point to destination, and that needs a load time.
Captain
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,170
# 3
05-16-2013, 07:28 PM
only way i see this working is by using flags to pre load the next map as you approach the border.
older machines that lack ram might have an issue with it though.

but if you set auto-navigate it could pop up with one button to just go to destination, and a second to begin loading the next map as you travel.
Quote:
Originally Posted by redz4tw View Post
can you say attack pattern angry forumers 3?
Quote:
Originally Posted by baelogventure View Post
Considering Ryan broke 25k in a NX, I expect he could easily pull 10k in an Escape Pod with a Hand Phaser.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,671
# 4
05-16-2013, 07:29 PM
"One Sector to Rule Them All" was a much-hoped-for future update, but was recently discussed that Cryptic just can't make that happen yet (especially with the greatly increased loads on their server budget due to needing to run Neverwinter now, as well). Taking it one step further (including all ground and space zones as part of the same map as the sector space maps, making it completely seamless) is an additional order of magnitude or so of difficulty.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 AM.