Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
When talking to npc the text coms half in french and half in English. Abit annoying to switch between the two.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-14-2010, 10:46 AM
I am having the same issue, i'm going to write them about this. I got the game through a torrent for the open beta because the other way was taking way too long but there were more then 12,000 peers and several thousand seeds. I don't know why it would be like this. Its mostly in french for me and I cant seem to find a language setting in the game anywhere.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-14-2010, 10:50 AM
That's really unusual. I'd recommend giving specific information to them regarding which NPCs are using the wrong language and perhaps also either quote the text (kind of a pain) or else at least mention what you're talking to them about (what mission, what question you asked, etc). Otherwise it will be hard for them to find where the errors in translation are occurring.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-14-2010, 11:02 AM
It seems like its just the npc's and the tutorial text. Its right at the start of the game. Most of the dialogue is french and theres a small part of it where it says something that looks like a coding issue.

For example on the bridge of the ship when you start and you hail the other ship, Koja Nara says this "Capitaine, le scan deEnsign FlareL'attest (assuming this is part of my name since its Flare) . Il y a des epaves de la Federation et des Borgs partout."

I really have no idea why this is doing this. I dont speak french nor do I have an French version of Windows.

......
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-14-2010, 11:29 AM
I submitted a bug report to Cryptic. Hopefully they will be able to see what the problem is. I forgot to mention, it was like I had a french version of the installer too. I dont see how this is possible because I got the torrent from the official torrent download in the download page. When the game starts up too it says "Chargement" which then switches to "Loading". I am puzzled why me and silverstar3006 are the only ones with this issue. why would I download a different French version when everyone else got the perfect English one?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-14-2010, 11:47 AM
I'm going to try to re-download it this time from Games On Net, see what happens when I uninstall and reinstall it. Pain in the ass! Its so bad its funny... almost lol.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-16-2010, 05:17 AM
...omg i think I know why it went to french. I must have selected french as the setup language at the beginning by accident. I feel like an idiot!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:27 PM.