Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Crash On Load Screen
01-15-2010, 02:31 AM
I have seen many others write about this.

STO crashes on the STO Logo screen. Error box pops up with no code.


Errors Log: http://pastebin.com/m45c4b78d

CRASH log: http://pastebin.com/m3b1914e

DXDIAG INFO: http://pastebin.com/m1eb909a4

Updated NVidia driver. System works well with other games etc.

I tried running in safe mode and force verify. One thing i did notice is that it seems to patch each time it loads and the error logs to me like some sort of permissions issue. So tried running as admin and trying to check Read Write was available on the folder of install.

I was on the Champions forum and it seems to have been a problem over there too... Exact same issue. Would be really nice if Cryptic could have a look at this.

Any help or ideas would be great
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-15-2010, 02:35 AM
These people have the same problem but have posted in the wrong place:

http://forums.startrekonline.com/showthread.php?p=1426610



This is the link to the same problem on the Champions website. Poor guy gave up.

http://forums.champions-online.com/s...ad.php?t=82300


Im thinking the nub of the issue is this error line: The patchclientlib is internally recording error code : 36\nA file was locked that could not be open for writing.

That error line is in all of the cases I have mentioned.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-15-2010, 10:38 AM
Error testing I turned off anti-virus and firewall. Exactly the same crash but now i got an error report code:

2506704

Does this mean anything or just a random code?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-15-2010, 10:51 AM
I have been reading on a German STO site that the error could be caused by a faulty download from the torrent.

Is this possible despite the fact that I tried verifying the files? Would be really nice to know if its going to work after beta. Lifetime membership is tempting but not if the game wont start
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-15-2010, 01:01 PM
Bump.... Gotta keep trying. Im hoping code ranger might chip in he seems to know what he is doing.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6 Error
01-15-2010, 01:21 PM
I am getting a decompression error while loading...and it does re-patch everytime on that last patch.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-15-2010, 01:32 PM
Interesting... I think the decompression error is different though sorry. For that have you tried running force verify and safe mode just to make sure your files are ok?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-16-2010, 02:18 AM
Bumping this in the hope that a dev can take a quick look
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-16-2010, 02:22 AM
try running the game in safe mode ? from the options link on the launcher ?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-16-2010, 02:58 AM
Thanks for the idea man but I tried safe mode and the verification for files but had the same crash.

Appreciate your input tho thanks.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 PM.