Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11 Did the same thing
01-16-2010, 06:09 AM
My son did the same thing with his toon, and now can't advance in the assimilation mission or kit up. Not sure how he deleted it, but we entered a GM ticket, so we'll see what happens.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
01-16-2010, 06:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlemtrek
My son did the same thing with his toon, and now can't advance in the assimilation mission or kit up. Not sure how he deleted it, but we entered a GM ticket, so we'll see what happens.
You entered a GM ticket to replace a starting weapon in a beta test? Seriously?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
01-16-2010, 01:26 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedgp123 View Post
You entered a GM ticket to replace a starting weapon in a beta test? Seriously?
Well the problem is that without this rifle, you can't progress further in any mission, you are eternally stuck running around on the ground shooting Borg.

I've been pushing forward but no matter how many borg I kill it won't progress, and there's no other spot on the map to go to. I think talking to a GM about a missing CRITICAL QUEST ITEM is rather important since I really don't want to go through the whole thing again (especially if it will still break itself).

I mean if this was just a reward item I wouldn't give a rat's behind but I need this rifle to get my first starship.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
01-16-2010, 01:39 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by WittyDroog View Post
Well the problem is that without this rifle, you can't progress further in any mission, you are eternally stuck running around on the ground shooting Borg.

I've been pushing forward but no matter how many borg I kill it won't progress, and there's no other spot on the map to go to. I think talking to a GM about a missing CRITICAL QUEST ITEM is rather important since I really don't want to go through the whole thing again (especially if it will still break itself).

I mean if this was just a reward item I wouldn't give a rat's behind but I need this rifle to get my first starship.
Yeah but you are about 10 mins into the game. 10 MINUTES!

Delete the character and start over. Then right click on the item and choose equip instead of dragging and dropping.

The characters will get wiped at the end of Beta anyways so don't get attached.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
01-16-2010, 03:39 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedRaiders
Yeah but you are about 10 mins into the game. 10 MINUTES!

Delete the character and start over. Then right click on the item and choose equip instead of dragging and dropping.

The characters will get wiped at the end of Beta anyways so don't get attached.
a little more the 10mins - but vaild point. but i also having problems with the game crashing my PC (ati 4850HD Radeaon-and high end AMD QuadCore -4GiG system: vista 32)

one problem i can live but both together doesn't encourage me to pony up 50-200$ to invest in the game.

(i have rolled another character-but i think its clear that this is a terminal bug the tuturial designer missed)
yes-it does say do you want to delete this item BUT in the particular situation - the assumption can be made that the phaser pistol would be the item deleted.

prior to the event...there are no instructions how to equip the second weapon-only that "z" (i think) can swap them... implying of course that 2 weapons should stack on that spot.

-there should be a respawn possbility for the rifle since this apparenly affects the kit- i have no idea how they are connected- but they are.

(btw the second time aound - a little more cautiously- discovered the double click trick(non documented). Since the Drag and drop to the character display is so finicky (or requires too precise placement or works for kit and not for rifle-didn't mess w/ cuz some screens seem to crash my computer faster)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
01-16-2010, 04:42 PM
Ok, to get the kit, you have to have the rifle. If you lose the rifle before getting the kit, I'm assuming you're stuck because the game already marked that part as completed. I think that level needs to have a trigger "if rifle is removed, allow opening crate again." For the time being, other than putting in tickets, you'll have to restart your character. I don't think GMs are going to be giving back weapons during beta, though I suppose they might. It really isn't that far into the game. Anyhow, if you get your kit and remove the rifle, you can still complete it... though it will be more difficult. In order to complete it, go find Borg who have a hostage and kill the Borg to free the hostage. Killing Borg who don't have hostages won't help you.

NOTE: If you submit a ticket for this, be sure you're stating that you dropped the rifle and can't get it back. There is a lot of issues with getting the rifle to begin with if you go to the wrong crate or too many people are in the area. So they got a ton of tickets about that and if they think it is the same thing, they may just close the tickets without looking at them very carefully.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
01-17-2010, 03:17 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riamus View Post
Ok, to get the kit, you have to have the rifle. If you lose the rifle before getting the kit, I'm assuming you're stuck because the game already marked that part as completed. I think that level needs to have a trigger "if rifle is removed, allow opening crate again." For the time being, other than putting in tickets, you'll have to restart your character. I don't think GMs are going to be giving back weapons during beta, though I suppose they might. It really isn't that far into the game. Anyhow, if you get your kit and remove the rifle, you can still complete it... though it will be more difficult. In order to complete it, go find Borg who have a hostage and kill the Borg to free the hostage. Killing Borg who don't have hostages won't help you.

NOTE: If you submit a ticket for this, be sure you're stating that you dropped the rifle and can't get it back. There is a lot of issues with getting the rifle to begin with if you go to the wrong crate or too many people are in the area. So they got a ton of tickets about that and if they think it is the same thing, they may just close the tickets without looking at them very carefully.
thanks great reply-(i don't submit ticket on this on but i hope that somehow they fix it a some point) just hope the ticket i did submit on my "crash" or "lockup" problem is as informative. i think my system is well over spec. and shouldn't be crashing.

We're almost 1/2way through betakey time and with the 2 problems i've wasted haf my time redoing- recovering from crashes and installing drivers and service paks-to no avail. i'm only on my first mission after getting my commission (vulcan patrol) and so far my impression of the game is more frustration than enjoyment.

if you or anyone like yourself is more famailar w/ this forum and can point me an appropiate post...
my computer is Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) 9950 Quad-Core Processor (4 CPUs), ~2.6GHz 4GiG Memory
DirectX Version: DirectX 10 Card: ATI Radeon HD 4850

Thank u very much
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 AM.