Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Hi there.

Ok so in space, my game animates at like 50 fps or more. Really impressive, etc.

The second I beam to anywhere, it instantly turns into a bloody slideshow of like 10 - 12 fps, sometimes far less. Totally unplayable, a huge disappointment.

I'm using a Radeon HD 4890. I've played with the settings, even had everything off at 800x600, still at 10 fps. What a joke!

Nothing else is running as I play this game except fraps to measure the frames. Heat is not a factor, my basement is flipping cold.

Any ideas? I tried rolling back the drivers already, that didn't help.

Ugh, please tell me at least, that I'm not the only one. I basically built this rig for STO, if it's just me I'm gonna go berserk and give up on PC gaming.

Thanks!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-15-2010, 06:35 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matteis View Post
Hi there.

Ok so in space, my game animates at like 50 fps or more. Really impressive, etc.

The second I beam to anywhere, it instantly turns into a bloody slideshow of like 10 - 12 fps, sometimes far less. Totally unplayable, a huge disappointment.

I'm using a Radeon HD 4890. I've played with the settings, even had everything off at 800x600, still at 10 fps. What a joke!

Nothing else is running as I play this game except fraps to measure the frames. Heat is not a factor, my basement is flipping cold.

Any ideas? I tried rolling back the drivers already, that didn't help.

Ugh, please tell me at least, that I'm not the only one. I basically built this rig for STO, if it's just me I'm gonna go berserk and give up on PC gaming.

Thanks!
This is a beta test your ment to be helping report problems not complaining about them,this game isnt finished it will have loads of problems.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-15-2010, 06:42 PM
I can't find problems if the game doesn't work in the first place. That's why I wanted to know if others are experiencing the same thing, maybe it's normal behavior at this point otherwise.

Thanks for the bright response though! (not)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-15-2010, 06:46 PM
I am also noticing that ground movement is very jerky. Space combat seems smooth to me too. I also made a post about it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-15-2010, 07:14 PM
well im glad to see its not just nvidia but ive noticed it subsiding as the day goes on i could be wrong
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-15-2010, 07:16 PM
Yes, I'm experiencing the same issues. I know it's not my computer either. If I can run crysis at almost all maximum settings, this game shouldn't be an issue. If I leave space, forget it. The server-side lag is woeful. I'm debating whether or not to buy the lifetime sub based on whether they fix this lag or not.

I understand it's open beta and that the game isn't fixed. I don't know what they can do to fix this issue, but it's close to gamebreaking for me. Hopefully they get it fixed in the next two weeks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-15-2010, 07:58 PM
This IS gamebreaking for me. If I can't even quest, I can't level, and that certainly means I won't be able to participate in endgame stuff.

I KNOW it's just a beta and nothing's complete, but if cryptic devs that were trolling the forums could drop lines now and then addressing particular issues as ''going to be fixed before the 29th'', it would go a loooong way to appease the players.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-15-2010, 08:01 PM
I am also having this problem. No matter what I do the ground combat is laggy. The space comabt is smooth but going into spacedock is like being on dial up.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-15-2010, 08:04 PM
My guess is that the space portion is far less taxing on the engine due to the relatively low number of polygons - usually you have a few ships, maybe some asteroids. On the ground you have hundreds of trees, NPCs, buildings, etc.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-15-2010, 08:07 PM
Yes but, even at 800x600, with NO EFFECTS enabled. Everything is slid allllllll the way to the left. If it can't be disabled, it's on minimum.

The problem persists!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48 PM.