Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Laptop Capeable?
01-16-2010, 08:04 AM
Hi there! I'v been playing STO on my stationary computer for the last several days and decided to give it a spin on my new laptop, out from the specs i would think ( I'm definatly no expert on the subject) that i would be able to run it on a pretty high end, but the game pretty much lags unless the graphics are set to low.

My laptop is a HP Pavillion dv7;

Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
4 Gigabytes of Ram
Intel Core Duo P7550 2.6 GHZ, 2.27 GHZ
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650

Thanks ahead!
-Cain
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-16-2010, 10:51 AM
Anyone?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3 Dell C820
01-16-2010, 11:35 AM
i'm using a dell c820 and can run the game just fine have 4gigs of ram on the computer 512mb graphics card and it runs just fine.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-16-2010, 04:46 PM
Obviously there's something amiss then, hm...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-16-2010, 06:10 PM
Runs great on my ASUS G50VT on high settings.

Intel Core2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26GHz
4GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 9800M GS
512MB VRAM
Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-16-2010, 06:25 PM
Maybe it's ATI related? (wouldn't suprise me )
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-19-2010, 01:22 AM
dont feel bad havng the same issue
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-19-2010, 01:32 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CainRae
Hi there! I'v been playing STO on my stationary computer for the last several days and decided to give it a spin on my new laptop, out from the specs i would think ( I'm definatly no expert on the subject) that i would be able to run it on a pretty high end, but the game pretty much lags unless the graphics are set to low.

My laptop is a HP Pavillion dv7;

Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
4 Gigabytes of Ram
Intel Core Duo P7550 2.6 GHZ, 2.27 GHZ
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650

Thanks ahead!
-Cain
I have a similarly specced Toshiba laptop and have no problems (it is my primary computer).

Suzanna
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-19-2010, 01:33 AM
I have heard elsewhere (in game) that STO currently sulks lots with ATI drivers. (nVidia all the way for me).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-19-2010, 01:43 AM
Yeah, I run it on my ASUS laptop:

C2D 2.0 GHz
4 GB DDR2 RAM
GeForce 9300M GS

I have to set it to medium(-ish) settings, and the game runs just fine. Except when I'm in a sector with lots of asteroids. Oh, how I hate asteroids.....

At any rate, it does sound like an issue with the ATi drivers.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 PM.