Go Back   Star Trek Online > Information and Discussion > Galactic News Network
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Hey All,

To increase visibility on the issue, I'm going to quote a post from Stormshade which addresses the concern that many players are unable to log in, and are seeing the "The server is busy at the moment" error message, even though the shard is online.

Quote:
This is really amazing! We have hit the limit of how many players we can fit on the server right now!

This is one of those times where we're both sad, and glad. On the one side, you all enjoy the game so much, we can't squeeze anyone else on to the server. (I can't log in right now either! )

On the other side, we really want to let you all on the server! So, here's what we're working on:

1) We're increasing server capacity. We have new machines coming in to add to the server, and we've put a rush order on them. We're going to bring them online as soon as we can.

2) We're working on software solutions as well. Our development team is working night and day to be able to get as much power as we can from each machine, and we're focusing on increasing capacity, and server stability.

For now, all we can say is, please keep trying. We know it's frustrating. Please keep trying though. You never know when you might be able to get in!

Thank you for your patience, thank you for your support, and thank you for your interest in Star Trek Online!

Stormshade
In summary, we're working hard to fix it! Thank you for your patience and dedication!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-16-2010, 04:35 PM
Can we have a SERVER STATS page < - send that suggestion to the powers that be please.

By that I mean one that shows what hardware the server is running at, current CPU utilization, #players online - things like that

More importantly - Total Uptime, Uptime since last reboot, Reason for last reboot, Scheduled Maintenance on....
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-16-2010, 04:37 PM
As if this could not have been foreseen.....like there would NEVER have been a need to have things ready for this inevitable eventuality.

Significant lack of pre-planning rears its head once again in a development cycle.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-16-2010, 04:37 PM
Scotty...I need more server power.......

Sir! She's givin' ya all she's gaht, sir!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-16-2010, 04:38 PM
Might want to add a queue sometime too
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-16-2010, 04:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by froste11 View Post
As if this could not have been foreseen.....like there would NEVER have been a need to have things ready for this inevitable eventuality.

Significant lack of pre-planning rears its head once again in a development cycle.
Oooor, they planned for it based on prior experience and the number where just even greater than expected. Comments like this are NOT helpful. None of us has any idea of what's going on in the devs world and harassing people that are working hard to try to please us just makes things worse.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-16-2010, 04:42 PM
Are we all going to be on "global" severs all the time or will you be spliting us up into "continent" area ie US EU Oceania etc ? Please i do hope so to to racial pressure of commitment to group and fleet runs at odd hours of the day

It might also "cure" todays log in stuggle too ... 8 hours of trying to log in is bad ,,, glad we aint subscribing atm

damned frustrating , i wanna get on and give it some but you dont want me too /cry
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-16-2010, 04:43 PM
Make shore you get lots of servers before this game goes live! With the fan base that Star Trek has you will need them!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9 Lame!
01-16-2010, 04:43 PM
It's been down almost all day! When are we gonna be able to play again?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10 queue system
01-16-2010, 04:43 PM
why not add a queue system that WOW has?

You try to log on and get placed into a queue which gives you an somewhat accurate eta on the time you have to wait and your number in the queue, which you can watch both slowly count down.

IMO is better than getting a message server is busy try again later and that's it.

just my 2 cents worth
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:15 AM.